California made me crunchy…

It is official, I moved to California a year and a half ago and I’ve become a hippie. This isn’t totally surprising, I’d already been playing ultimate frisbee for years and, well,  it was about time… These days I thoroughly enjoy my flip flop weather and the ability to commute via bike. Haven’t gotten into hooping quite yet, but there is still time.

With becoming more one with the earth, I’ve changed up my breakfast routine. Instead of random cereal or oatmeal,  I’ve been enjoying my greek yogurt and Cascadian Farms granola every morning. In fact, I have to talk myself out of having it for dinner some days (like right this moment!). This breakfast combination leaves me completely satisfied from 8am until lunch unlike other things I’ve tried. It also improves the taste of cottage cheese if you want a high protein kick.

I’ve tried most of the Cascadian Farms granolas, and although I thought the dark chocolate almond would be a quick favorite, I gravitate toward the maple brown sugar. Seriously delicious. I find myself looking for excuses to munch on it. Isn’t everything better with some maple?  (Maple bacon scones are one of the greatest gifts to mankind.  Trust me on this and if you are in SF, then I’ll direct you to some!)

If you haven’t yet, also check out their new crunchy granola bars. The taste is similar to Nature Valley’s bars, but the ingredient list is significantly shorter. They also come in some other great flavors. Looking forward to getting my hands on the oat and cocoa!

What granola do you enjoy devouring? Have you tried Cascadian Farms?

Note: Cascadian Farms has sent me several products to sample over the past few months. But let me be serious, I loved their granola long before they offered to send me any.
 
About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on April 28, 2013, in Life, Product and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. how wonderful to live in CA, eat that yummy cereal and be a hippie. Interesting to think that I must be a hippie, too. Be well.

  2. Used to buy cheerios from Cascadian when they had zero sugar. Soon after, they started adding it. Before that, honey was enough.

  3. It was funny because I was just telling my mom about my crunchy friends that I’ve made recently (raw milk/getting their own chickens) and then I picked up a box of granola from the shelf. She just raised an eyebrow. ;)

    I use Archer Farms. Haven’t actually tried Cascadian Farms!

Leave a Reply

