Because of Boston

I never thought of myself as a runner
I don’t have a runners physique
And I move rather slowly
Even though I had completed numerous 5ks and short races
I was just dabbling, I was a jogger
I thought, “After I finish my first half, then maybe I’ll be a true runner”
But I completed my first half, and I was still the same
So I thought, “Maybe after my next half, then I can call myself a runner”
I completed four half marathons in six months
But I remained the same
Then I got a golden ticket and began training for my first full
In April 2011 I slowly but surely crossed the finish line of the Boston Marathon
And it was as I crossed that finish line that I was forever changed

I am a lot of things
I am a daughter
A sister
A friend
I am a student
A designer
An engineer
But if you ask those close to me about my defining attribute
They will tell you
I am a runner

Because of Boston

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on April 16, 2013, in Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I love this. You were a runner the second you started running. If you run, you are a runner. Don’t forget that.

    • It is easy to forget at times as I feel so slow in comparison to some of my friends. But I know now that if I spend the majority of my money, time, and thoughts on running that I am a true runner. Thanks for your kind words Ashley.

  2. Great post. 2011 is the year I did Boston as well, and yesterday felt like a personal blow to me in many ways. Part of my heartbreak is for those whose memory this year is not of the race, or the experience, but of the tragedy.

    • That is so true Carina, Boston is such a momentous occasion and it is a shame that some will remember their first experience negatively. I can only hope that this does not alter their running behavior in the future.

  3. This is beautiful. I am glad that you are finally able to see yourself as a runner and will forever be known as such.

Leave a Reply

