Color Running

Some alternate titles for this post include:
That time I ingested too much cornstarch
Like a Bandit!
Bootyshakin’ in the Streets
Colorful Day Drinking

This past Saturday I got roped into joining my (hash) friends run the San Francisco Color Run. This required me to rouse myself from bed early and dress in my finest white. After getting over the initial shock (it was early after a late night…), my friend and I jumped into his convertible, put down the top, and threw on the jams. Apparently people found it shocking when I started to scream good morning out of the car.

An hour later, after dealing with traffic, we found parking and our friends. Fortunately one was kind enough to prepare bibs for the rest of us (banditing at its finest). Sneaking into the front of the massive corral we opened up our first pouch of color and started attacking each other. To be honest, it looked like we all had a cheeto eating problem, not that flattering…

Then we were off! For the first mile it was just a cluster of individuals searching for a color station. My friends all run at different paces, but somehow we all kept up with one of the faster chicks. And then we found it, the first color station. Everyone on the course halted as we shuffled through the station. I was smartly donning large sunglasses to avoid getting the color in my eyes, but that didn’t help my mouth and shnoz. I learned quickly that you need to avoid breathing in those areas (because not breathing is totally possible for a few minutes at a time).

Since we’re all a bunch of “serious” runners, we started to pass people and pull some runner antics. Yes, we did Indian Sprints (is there a more PC term for this?). This involved more sprinting than I would have imagined, but it was well worth it. Before we knew it, we  were covered in yellow, orange, blue, and pink. And my mouth was chalky as ever (I don’t know how to hold my breath). As we came sprinting toward the finish line, all trying to outdo the next, we were stopped by a huge crowd. Walking across a finish line? That was new.

And then it was done! We chugged some water, at which point I seriously ingested the cornstarch, and then convened by the sound stage where I proceeded to get down. There is nothing quite as mesmerizing as my awkward white girl dancing. At least that is what I like to think. Twas quite an amusing event overall.

Color Run

The only logical conclusion after the race was to don our colorful new attire and grab a celebratory brunch. A dozen of us descended upon a local watering hole where we ate and drank ourselves merry. Being logical, I went home and bathed, took a nap, and did some work. This wasn’t the case for all of my friends, later that evening I joined a few at another bar where I found out that they’d been entertaining themselves at bars all day. What a bunch of crazies I’m friends with. :)

Honestly, I don’t think I would have done this race if I wasn’t there with a large group of my friends. It wasn’t my favorite due to the overload of people and inefficient running. And dear goodness I was ill after consuming all that colorful powder. But I won’t deny that I had a great day with these folks, perhaps it really is all about the company you keep?

Have you ever done a color run? What did you think?

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on March 5, 2013, in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I did it last year and LOVED it. But because there were so many people and they were mostly just walking, we sort of jog-walked the whole thing. I have a hard time with the whole concept of a “fun run” and not stressing about doing a good job or worrying about my time. So being forced to just slow down and worry more about getting a solid dose of each color than about speed made for something really enjoyable for me.
    That said, because of the mess, that it sold out really quickly, and the big song and dance (for just a 5k), I probably wouldn’t go out of my way to do it again.

    • I am with you. Most of the time I’m too much of a “serious runner”. It was nice to get out of my head for a bit and just go with the flow and all the different paces.

      In other news, I can’t wait to rock the Oakland Half with you in less than two weeks. :)

  2. I’m signed up for two — May & July. They’re my first two races ever so I’m excited! Glad to read you had fun!

  3. Looks like so much fun. Once I am a better runner, I will attempt a colour run.

Leave a Reply

