Tell Yourself a Good Story

While I was at Fitbloggin this past month, I heard some really beautiful stories. I didn’t resonate with all of them, but one statement has really stuck with me. I was sitting in on the discussion, When You Have a Lot to Lose, and Nikki was talking about her weight loss journey.

Nikki mentioned that the story you tell is the one that others believe. And sometimes the most important story you tell is the one you tell yourself. When you wake up, rather than complaining about the time or the weather, say something positive. Look in the mirror and tell yourself one great thing about who you are and one great thing about what you will accomplish today. Because today you will successfully accomplish something.

Although I’ve had a tendency to be melodramatic in the past, these days I’m waking up with a new attitude. The other morning I woke up and thought, “I’m tired, this is going to be a long day.” But moments later I realized my foolishness, why say that to yourself when you can invigorate yourself with a few simple statements?

In fact, I used this tactic while running the San Jose half last weekend. I told Maggie about this theory around the half way point and we began to talk about how great we felt. I said that my legs felt fresh and I could go for many miles more. We shouted about how awesome we were. Then there was that one comment about how great my butt looked… Come on, sometimes you have to have fun with it. :)

So do me a favor, tell yourself something positive today. And tomorrow. Then keep the trend going and remember that you are an amazing specimen worthy of great things.

What story did you tell yourself today?

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on October 17, 2012, in Life, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. how we talk to ourselves makes a huge difference. seriously I was very cranky this morning and as the day continued things just got worse. I had to have a talk with myself to snap out of it!

    but you know what I do when I am running sometimes? I also do this kind of thing, I may even shout it out to no one “I AM AMAZING!” “I AM A WARRIOR!” “I AM A WINNER!” “I’M A FREAKING NINJA!” It works. No ninja is actually going to stop and give up, right?

    xx

  2. I had no idea that you were telling yourself a story. I believed that you really were just full of energy and loving every second of it. I also possibly believed that you were a bit batshit crazy, but I was more than happy to reap the benefits.

Leave a Reply

