San Francisco Marathon, here I come!

It has finally hit me that I will be running the San Francisco Marathon in the morning. Honestly, it is odd how little this has affected me. I know I’ve been going to Saturday morning long runs and doing more running in Golden Gate park, but I didn’t realize what it was leading up to. I blame this on the fact that all of my previous races have been “destination” choices and I’ve never gotten to sleep in my own bed the night before.

But here I am, heading off to bed at 9:30pm so I can be prepared for a 4:30am wake up. I spread out my clothing on the floor (which got some entertaining remarks from my roommate) and made sure I had all of the necessary pieces (think 8 gels is enough?).

I’ll admit that I’m scared. I know that I’ve run on these hills before, but that doesn’t alter their severity. I’ve changed up my strategy for this run, deciding that I will stick to my 6/1 intervals regardless of my pride.  But in addition to that nervousness, my friends will be manning a water station at mile 19 and I’m embarrassed that they will see how slow I am.   It doesn’t help that I also have a head cold (thanks coworkers!), thank goodness it is just above the neck. Here is hoping that these nerves and aches will be gone by the time I cross that start line.

And as I prayed before – Running Gods, please keep my feet from throbbing, my calves from cramping, my knees from aching, my tummy from churning, my chest from chafing, and my mind from straying from a positive outlook.

Best of luck to all the other great folks out there running and racing tomorrow!

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on July 28, 2012, in Running. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Best of luck to you!!! You’ll do great!!

  2. Good luck! Hope all goes well!

  3. I hope the race went well for you today!

Leave a Reply

