Birthday musings and a Raffle

As of this morning I am officially 25 years of age. I know that isn’t a particularly exciting birthday, but hell, I’m going to enjoy it! I plan to spend today doing the things I love the most; this morning I went for a run with my running group  to prepare for my upcoming marathon (next week, eep) and soon I’ll be relaxing with (some of) the people I love in the park.

This summer I’ve begun to learn about truly enjoying life. I’ve found that I’ve had a better attitude, am awkwardly happy often times, and more positive about each opportunity I’m offered. Some of this has to do with the improvisation course I took this past year that opened my eyes to saying “yes”, but much of it is because I’m learning to take things in stride and accept reality. It is a wonderful feeling and I hope to foster it for the rest of my life.

Also in honor of my birthday and to help my fundraising efforts, I am throwing a raffle. Each raffle ticket costs $1.80 and as a special (extra Jew-wy deal), for $18 I will give you 18 entries. Now what will you win? I have two prize packages, both come with an awesome Headsweats Supervisor in pink (this visor is amazing, more on it to come), two cases of Clif Bars (varying flavors), and five packages of Strawberry Clif Shot Bloks.

 

To enter:
Go to my donation page and enter the amount you are giving
Let me know in the comments how many tickets you’ve purchased

It is as simple as that.  If I am able to reach the $900 donation mark by July 29th (when I run the San Francisco Marathon), I will add some fantastic bonus goodies for you amazing folks.

And if you aren’t already aware, I greatly appreciate any amount that you can give. Every dollar donated will go to support those in need. This is truly all I want for my birthday, to help raise money for a cause that is near and dear to my heart. Thank you for your support.

I hope you all have a glorious Saturday!

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on July 21, 2012, in Running. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Glad you had an awesome birthday!! I love the second paragraph of this post. I’m getting a good sense of that this summer, by working (rather than being in school.. ALL day and night, as I’m sure you can empathize with) and meeting new people all the time and being in a new, exciting place.
    And yummm, can never have too many clif bars :) I gave 18 already so that means I already have 18 tickets?

    • Thanks Robin! I was never the overly positive person, yet somehow I’ve stumbled upon positivity recently. It feels odd, but I think I’ll enjoy it!

      And of course you have 18 tickets. You made me so happy when you were the first donor, I’m so glad I got to meet you!

  2. I donated double Chai, so is that like 36 tickets?! I’d settle for 20 though. As another proud Jewish lady, I think this is a really great cause. Good luck!

    • Thank you Steph! I’m so proud to be running for this great cause and in honor of my ridiculously heroic grandparents. And of course you get 36 tickets! (May the odds be ever in your favor :)

Leave a Reply

