Goals for June (and beyond)

Now that school has officially ended (as soon as I hand in my research proposal) and the summer is truly beginning, I feel it is only appropriate to set some goals for myself. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had goals throughout the entire year, but they focused on doing well in school for the most part. Since I’ve made it through successfully, I feel that it is the right time to focus on my body and my running. So here are some of my plans for this upcoming summer:

1. This summer I will be running the San Francisco Marathon and I would like for it to be my best yet. Thus far I’ve completed three hillier marathons, so this should fit right in with the elevation changes. This means that I need to start focusing on hillier training and completing my long runs on schedule. I’ve used every excuse not to complete long runs for the previous two marathons (school and such), but now those are not viable reasons. In fact, I am aiming to join a new running club that will keep me honest and remind me what it is to wake up at 7am on a Saturday.

2. Although it isn’t something I discuss much, I’d like to focus on putting better foods into my body and perhaps dropping a few pounds. Life will still be hectic with my new internship, but I should have more time to cook and select healthier options. The main goal is to drop 5 pounds and return to my high school weight. As a reward I’m planning to buy some more “adult” clothing from Anthropologie (I need to stop dressing like an engineer all the time…).

3. I’ll be moving into the city in a week and I want to make the most of what my new home has to offer. This means running in Golden Gate park, visiting some of the local farmers markets, and spending more time outside of my apartment.  I haven’t had the opportunity to enjoy the nightlife SF has to offer, so that is a major goal of this summer. If you live (or find yourself) in San Francisco and want to grab a cup of coffee, hit me up!

4. Read more! During the school year I’ve only had time to read a few books here or there (and plenty of psych papers). This summer I’m going to take some time to enjoy the books I have piling up on my shelf. Does anyone have some good suggestions?

I’m sure there are other things I’ll want to accomplish, but these are the most salient. And if I have the time I plan to travel, even if it is just to Marin or Napa.

What are your goals this summer?  What tips and tricks do you have for sticking to them?

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on June 6, 2012, in Life, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Yay city!! And yay summer break!!

    I am happy to tell you all my favorite spots. :)

    • That would be awesome Angela, I’d love to hear about places to go and things to see! I’m definitely going to make it to Genki at some point because I know I’ve been missing out. :)

  2. Congrats on being done with school!! I’m sure it is such a great feeling of accomplishment and relief for you. I love these goals and being a Language Arts teachers my favorite of yours is to read more. I’ve never ran a full marathon so I really look forward to reading about your training! Good luck!!

  3. Hey there! Just found your blog and saw that you are running SF this summer- my husband and I are running there too! Good luck training- I’m way behind!

  1. Pingback: Into the Fog « The Running Jewess

Leave a Reply

