Speed it up

As many of you have probably figured out, I haven’t had the chance to run much these past few months. But I’m proud to say that my running has been steadily getting faster! I’m not sure how that happened, but I’ll take it! Secretly I’m blaming it on the fact that I’ve been spending time with a runner who has a pace of 6 minutes per mile or faster. Osmosis, it works.

At the start of my run on Tuesday I noticed that my pace was faster than normal, so I tried to slow down to guarantee I’d make it through without trouble. Of course telling myself to slow down never works, but I did maintain the pace for the entire time. Then today’s short run managed to be more than 40 seconds faster per mile than my typical pace. Or what I used to consider my “typical” pace. I’m hoping this sticks and I can improve my marathon time for Big Sur (less than two months away, eep!).

I should note that for the past two weeks I’ve incorporated stadiums into my workout. Running the mile to the track, going up and down the stairs, then running back to my apartment. It isn’t much, but I know I need to prepare my legs for some inclines. Next I need to incorporate speed training back into my plan. Yeah, that will happen eventually. (Baby steps)

How has your pace changed over the course of your running career? Does anyone have suggestions on what other workouts will help increase speed?

In other news, Meatless March is going well! I haven’t craved meat anytime in the past week. There have been moments when I nearly forgot that I was avoiding meat, but quickly corrected myself. And since my trip to Chile is on the rocks (probably not happening), I won’t have any issues completing the entire month. Who knows, perhaps this will slowly grow into a lifestyle change…

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on March 8, 2012, in Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

