It Begins and a Giveaway

Good morning Meatless March! Today it all begins. Although I have only eaten meat two or three times in the past week, today I will be removing meat from my diet all together. I’m not so concerned since I know plenty of options that I love which don’t include meat, but we’ll see how I’m faring in a few more days.

I started off this morning with a great big (but portion controlled) bowl of Cheerios. Have I mentioned that I’m a cereal fanatic? When I was living in London I ate cereal for at least one if not two meals a day (the cereal there is amazing). Well a while back I received a fantastic box from General Mills (courtesy of MyBlogSpark) that contained some of my all time favorite selections. And best of all, they are full of whole grains!

I realize that some of them are less healthy (but slightly more delicious) than the others, so I’ve started off with Cheerios and Total and will be saving the others for a special occasion. One of the best parts of Cheerios, for me, is the high amount of iron they provide. I’m anemic, which means I’m always sleepy, and things would definitely be better if I started to get a full serving of iron each day. Having a serving each day will be a low cal breakfast option as well as get me on my way for reducing my anemia.

I’m looking forward to devouring the rest of the boxes over the next few weeks!

And now for the Giveaway:
One fantastic reader will win five boxes of General Mills delicious cereal, each contains whole grains as the first ingredient. (I removed the Cheerios from this box before taking the photo, but you’ll definitely receive a box of them as well!)

Now here is how the giveaway works:
Tell me more about your breakfast habits. What are your favorite cereals?

Want an extra entry into the giveaway? Well here are a few options:
1. Visit Whole Grain Nation and let me know a new fact that you learned about whole grains
2. Follow me on Twitter
3. Post a tweet about this giveaway, please include @RunningJewess and a link to this post.

Leave an additional comment for each extra entry.

The giveaway will be closing at noon EST on Tuesday, March 6th, 2012.

Note: The prize pack, information, and giveaway have been provided by General Mills through MyBlogSpark.

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on March 1, 2012, in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. I love cereal, but I actually very rarely eat it for breakfast beacuse it doesn’t keep my full very long. Breakfast is usually eggs of some sort of oatmeal with peanut butter in it. I actually don’t even buy it very often because I tend to lack self control when it comes to cereal (read: I can sit down and eat half a box dry if I don’t watch myself.) Oh, and my favorite cereal…Cinnamon Toast Crunch…very healthy choice, I know. :)

  2. Also, I already follow you.

  3. I’m so lazy about breakfast, especially on the days I have school. I just make a cup of cereal (optimum slim is by favorite from natures path), or ill make frozen steel cut oats from costco, or whole wheat toast with peanut butter. And id say 60% of the time, I eat breakfast in my car.

  4. And I follow you on twitter already! :)

  5. Did you know popcorn is a whole grain???

  6. Love breakfast. Might be my favorite meal of the day. And I love cereal… however, I rarely just have a bowl of it with milk. Normally I use cereal as a topper for greek yogurt and fruit. My favorite cereals right now are Peanut Butter Cheerios (SO GOOD) and Puffins.

  7. I already follow you on Twitter… which is how I learned about this great giveaway.

  8. first of all cereal is one of my all time favorites too! Cheerios and I are best of friends. and recently oatmeal squares is making it sort of a love triangle. I have a bowl of cereal and/or a shakeology smoothie every single day for breakfast and/or lunch. Couldnt live without it!

    New fact I learned: never heard of the bran, endosperm, germ layers of whole grain before.

    I already follow you on twitter! Ashleysh22

  9. I seriously love cereal, I eat it in yogurt, pudding, milk, by the handful…you get it. I really want to try the new peanut butter Cheerios. Those sound pretty freaking awesome. I switch my breakfast up though, otherwise I get ridiculously bored.

    New fact: I really didn’t know what consisted “whole” now I do!

    Already follow you on twitter

  10. breakfast is usually one of 2 options… first, oatmeal w/ pb + sometimes flaxmeal + sometimes banana. second, CEREAL <3 my favorites are smart start & pretty much any granola. i usually combine one of those 2 with a fiber cereal. sometimes i will dice an apple and throw it in also. when i am feeling audacious, though, and have an extra 10 minutes in the morning, i'll have a 2 egg omelet w/ cheese if it's in my fridge and salsa on top. yummm.

  11. and i already follow you! yay

  12. and whole grain nation fun fact: recommended daily amt of whole grains is 48g!

  13. With rushed mornings, I usually don’t have time to eat cereal. Bagels or bread is the usual choice; stuff it in a bag and it’s portable. Cereal is mostly saved for snacking, since it is pretty healthy and easy to bring along. It’s sure nice to know this would contribute to the 48 grams of daily grains.

  14. we like cinnamon toast crunch cereal
    for breakfast we have scrambled eggs with hash browns
    once a week pancakes
    thanks

Leave a Reply

