Hello world, it’s been a while

I feel like it has been ages since I’ve written here. Fortunately this is because I’ve been busy with the wonderful world of student life and some added socializing! Shockingly I’ve found the time to get out in the world which was much needed. Last quarter there was minimal time for anything but work, but now I’m doing my best to make the time.  In fact, I may finally make it to Napa this weekend! (Yeah, it is about damn time…)

Sadly I haven’t had much time to run. I’m trying not to let it get me down and doing my best to live by Laura‘s mantra – Someone busier than you is running. This literally pushed me to get off my derrière Tuesday morning and I bet it will do the same tomorrow. On a more positive note, my pace has been slowly picking up. I’m not planning on setting any PR’s in the near future, but I don’t mind seeing a lower per mile pace. Hopefully I can keep this up for Big Sur in April.

Perhaps I should take this advice….

someecards.com - Wearing your running shoes everywhere this spring may increase your odds of actually running

But enough about me, how are you fine folks doing?

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on February 1, 2012, in Running. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Lol…love it. When I was in grad school (and even just out), two runs was a really good week for me, so y’know. You do what you can do. :)

    • I’m going to try and strive for three runs a week (any less and I may take my frustration out on my program-mates…).

      Hope all is well in your world. What is your next marathon?

  2. Yay! Welcome back, missed you BUT so glad you’re socializing and doing the student thang!

    I’ll admit, that guy may be onto something. I wore my sneakers last night and felt like a superhero, I cleaned all the dishes in my home and put away laundry (which I’d been putting off for ages.) They just make me feel like I can move faster/better.

    • I may have to try that sometime, I typically just wear my sneakers for running but it could be nice around the house too. And thank you for reminding me to do laundry! I was wondering where all of my socks were running off to.

  3. Hooray for you being back! Sort of. :) i’m glad you’re getting out in the world, my dear. We’ve missed you! I might be down in the city on Saturday if you’re around…check in with my on Twitter if you don’t have any plans for the afternoon! Maybe we can grab a mid-afternoon lunch. Hugs!

  4. Heeeelllooooooo!! You are definitely having to adjust, but good work on getting some runs in AND still seeing a faster pace! That’s awesome!

  5. Hi!! I’m so glad things are going well!!

  6. I had to run as soon as I got up in the morning to make sure I got it in. Grad school can magically suck up your entire day and evening.

    • You are so correct! My only issue with running in the morning is that I find myself being slightly dehydrated. This morning I had to stop in at Hillel to get some water before finishing!

      Good luck with your dissertation!

Leave a Reply

