Holiday Adventure

As of Friday the quarter was officially over. Hurrah! This past week has been full of less stress, complete laziness relaxation , and more television than I ever though I could handle. It has been great. I’ll admit it has been less productive than I would have hoped for, but I have to let myself slide after a very rigorous quarter. I just have to be serious with myself, I worked my ass off for ten weeks so now it is time to breath and enjoy the little things. (I deserve it?) And now I can spend the rest of the vacation doing more exciting things!

Later today I ship off for my tour of three states in two weeks. This evening I’ll be touching down in Denver, Colorado for a few days of skiing and overdosing on homemade Indian food. My friend from Stanford invited me into his brother’s house and I couldn’t be more excited. Instead of Christmas, we’ll be celebrating his nephew’s first birthday (I bought him the coolest hooded towel, I hope he likes it!). And I’m going to teach them the art of a Jewish Christmas, can you say Chinese food and a movie marathon? Then I’ll spend the rest of the time on the slopes, laughing too hard while my friend struggles to learn to ski, and sipping hot cocoa.

And before I know it, I’ll be off to Seattle, Washington to enjoy the museums, architecture, and ice cream (apparently it is award worthy). My friend in Seattle happens to be a professional magician and treehouse builder, I can’t wait to see some of the amazing structures he built over the past few years. I’ve only been to the city once (with my mother), so I’m hoping this visit will be a bit more exciting. If anyone has suggestions on what to see or do, I’d love to hear them!

Then I’ll be shipping south to the lovely state of Texas to see my lovely Laura and Sarah!! I cannot wait to see these two again. I’ve never been to Texas (other than for a layover) so it will be interesting to spend some time there. I’m not sure what we’ll do exactly, but I know it will be absolutely fantastic. I’m looking forward to plenty of down south cooking, nights out, and Texan accents. Perhaps we’ll even explore Austin since I’ve heard great things about the city.

Needless to say I’m quite excited for this adventure! I’ll do my best to take plenty of photos. In fact, my parents gifted me with a new digital camera for Hanukkah so I have no excuse not to these days. Now off to finish packing (nothing like saving it til the last minute :).

What are your holiday plans this year? 

Hope you all have a wonderful Christmahanakwanza!

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on December 22, 2011, in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Hope you love our great state of Texas!! Austin is awwesome! SO much great food! You should definitely go explore South Congress! Can’t wait to here what all you *do* end up doing in Texas!

    • I’ll also be in Dallas where you lovely ladies are! Any suggestions on things to see or do there (other than Central Market)?

      • Ohhh you will?? How fun! Haha, other than Central Market – that cracks me up! Good store though! If you’re looking for something artsy to do definitely visit the Nasher Sculpture Center! Historic – Dealey Plaza & the Sixth Floor Museum for all the JFK stuff. For some yummy food and a good view – go eat at Smoke next to the Belmont Hotel and then hang out at the Belmont Hotel for drinks and to see an AWESOME view of the Dallas Skyline at night! You could go to White Rock Lake and see the area where SO many Dallasites run races and/or go to the Arboretum right there too! If you like wine – one of my favorite not a chain type wine bar is Bodega on Travis St. I’m trying to think what else and give you a range of options….how am I doing? Ha

  2. Can’t wait to see you!!!!!

  3. Safe travels!!! Have fun in Texas with Sarah and Laura!! :D

  4. Last year I could not find a single Chinese place that was open. Jew Christmas sucks in a small town.

    • Now that is just awful! I’m sure that Columbus must have at least one Chinese place open on Christmas. Here is hoping you get a proper Christmas meal this year!

  5. Have fun and I can’t wait to see you and have you upstairs from me!

  6. Heh, Austin is also about 5 hours from Dallas. Sad but true, you have to DRIVE forever to get anywhere. Dallas is an interesting place- I’ve only been there for a weekend once but all in one night I managed to: get a driving ticket, almost get my car impounded, get followed by a creeper, and have a German guy try to pick me up (I gave him a fake number and ran off). Good times.

Leave a Reply

