Day One

After a crazy week of program orientation, today marked the first official day of classes. To be honest I couldn’t tell if I was more eager or nervous going into my first class. As an engineer it feels odd to be taking an Art Studio course, but I’m interested to see how my work benefits from the process. Instead of handing in problem sets, I’ll be turning in drawings and paintings. I suppose now we’ll see how creative I am?

As for my running, this weekend I managed to get a fantastic 8 miler in. The first four miles were tough (my calves were tightening up far too much) but the last four were glorious. I was almost upset that I didn’t have time to go further. Of course right after my shower I had to jet over to my building to clean for eight hours. Being on my feet for ten hours was draining and I’m still making up for it.

On Sunday I’ll be running a Rock ‘n’ Roll half marathon. I don’t want to admit this, but I’m scared. I haven’t run 13.1 in quite some time and with the trouble my ankles and calves have been giving me it may be a difficult time. Renee has graciously offered to pace me and I am so grateful, I just hope I don’t slow her down too much… (Wish me luck, I’ll probably need it.)

And now I’ve got enough homework to keep me busy for the next month. I’d like to get a head start on my projects, but I don’t want to be too over eager. I just pray that I don’t get bogged down and dragged under with all these new responsibilities. Oy gevalt.

Do you like to attack projects head on or stand back for a bit to see the bigger picture?

Note: I apologize that I’m going to be in and out these next few weeks. Life is becoming horribly hectic and soon I’m going to start spending my life behind my new desk. I hope to have the chance to keep up to date with all your lives (I may need an extra nudge to come out of my grad student hole every once in a while).

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on September 26, 2011, in Life, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Are your calves okay?

    I keep starring your blog posts to come back and comment, but uuuugh, graduate school! Where is all my free time?! But I’m really psyched because I might get to go on the treadmill in about 1-2 weeks. There’s a zombie-themed 5K/obstacle course in May I think I’m going to try to run, assuming my compartment syndrome WAS cured by surgery; I have to cross-train for it, but whatEVER, it’s too awesome to say no to …

  2. Good luck with the half! I know exactly what you mean about not having time to blog because of school, so try not to feel guilty! I hope your classes are going well and aren’t too tough! I forget, are you a TA or an RA or neither?

  3. Hola! Congrats on Day One! :D I remember being so excited to go back to school that I started projects early, but then realized how much better I could do after learning some of the key points. I think being a proactive project attacker is a good thing, so long as you’re aware of places you can make improvements on the project as the semester goes along. I also wish you the BEST of LUCK on school! it’s going to be great!

    And you’ll find time to run – though it might be 9pm on a Tuesday. Do you know why your calves tighten up? I’ve found rolling out my achilles and calf prior to running helps… but if you have a guesstimate on why your calves tighten, I’d be happy to hear because mine do it too!!

    Good luck and kick some bootie at your RnR Half! :D

  4. Good luck on your half!!! You will be awesome!!!!!

  5. I jump into projects immediately! I majorly stress otherwise. High five for the good run!*

  6. Good luck on your half! I felt the same going into the Air Force Half two weeks ago, and I ended up walking, but I finished and it didn’t take me as long as I though. Good luck with classes too – thinking of you and wishing you well!!

  7. We’ll give ya a nudge if need be! You’ll do great in your half. I’ll be sending you good luck vibes!

Leave a Reply

