Orientating Myself

Graduate student orientation officially began this past Sunday. Hurrah? I’ve found that the events are often overwhelming since there are more than 1,000 new students and the rooms for each event have a much smaller capacity. Although I’ll admit that I have skipped many of the (less than necessary) sessions and attended more of the socialization events. I forgot how nerve wracking it is to meet people, but I’m glad to say that I’ve managed to bypass the alcohol and (slightly) overcome my group shyness.

Of course every event comes equipped with free food. I’m trying to stick with my action mantra and remind myself that just because it is free does not mean I need to consume it. (No Free Food!) But it is tough. I must admit that I did cave at one event, but I’m doing my best not to continue the trend. My program orientation provides us with lunch and dinner most days, so I have no choice but to consume their offerings. Planning for the rest of the week, my goal is to select the healthier options and keep my portions down.

This morning my program began with a bang. I had a difficult time determining what to wear and boy was I off the mark. My JCrew chinos and Banana Republic top made me the most overdressed individual in the room. And after a quick round of introductions they sent us off for a scavenger hunt. It was a fantastic time, I even got behind the seat of a cop car, but boy is it hot out! My outfit was a poor choice as I shvitzed through my top. (I’m hoping not everyone noticed…) Now that I know how the other folks are dressing I think I can be more comfortable in jeans and a nice top, no use in overdoing it on a daily basis.

The rest of the week will be intense. They have us scheduled to be in our offices everyday, including the weekends. Unfortunately this means I’ll have to miss out on the Fitbloggin’ Local event that I had been looking forward to, but I hope it helps me become closer with my fellow Loftees (the Loft is my home for the next two years). It seems this year will be a rigorous and rewarding experience, let’s just see if I’m ready for this ride!

How has your week been? What new and exciting things have kept you busy?

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on September 21, 2011, in Life, Running, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Awwwww – so excited for you!!!! giddy-giddy-giddy!

  2. my week hsa been crazy. are you coming up on saturday?!

    • Sadly I can’t make it on Saturday. Without informing us, my program decided to schedule my entire week for me. Turns out they want to go camping on the October 1st and 2nd, but I may kick and scream because I don’t want to miss RnR San Jose. There is also a chance I won’t make it to the other blogger meetup on the 9th because of program happenings. I’m not pleased.

  3. So, explain this loft? It sounds exciting! I’m glad you are having fun and meeting people!

    • The Loft is the design building where I have a fancy desk and I get to build anything and everything I can imagine. We are essentially attached to the machine shop (which is absolutely awesome). Unfortunately I am expected to live in this small space, but they have it decked out so it is fairly comfortable. The people in my program seem cool, which is great since we’re going to see far too much of each other soon!

  4. No free food is hard. It’s free! The only thing getting me through this crazy week is knowing that I am going to happy hour tonight!

  5. Ugh, I remember the curse of all the free food, especially during the first couple of weeks. I felt like I was constantly accosted by giant pastries & bad pizza. Good for you for having a free food mantra!

  6. I’m just going to go ahead and live a little bit vicariously through you..if you don’t mind. :)

    It all sounds so exciting, you sexy beast!

Leave a Reply

