Settling In

As I’ve mentioned a few too many times, I’ve finally moved to California! Surprisingly this entire process was easier than I had expected.

On Friday my friend picked me up from the airport and shlepped me and my heavy luggage back to campus where I was given my room assignment. Entering my apartment I realized my roommate had been living there for quite some time. It was messy. After a slight nervous breakdown I came to terms with the situation and began unpacking. Even though I purged a good amount of clothing before I arrived, there is little room in this place for all my crap. Oh well.

Saturday began with a quick 4.75 mile run around my area. I have to note, it is gorgeous here. Most of the paths are flat and there are plenty of routes to choose from. Unfortunately without sustenance for before, during, or after my run so my body wouldn’t let me push much further. Initially I had planned to go food shopping in the afternoon so that I didn’t have to scour campus for something to eat (no food in apartment = famished Michelle).

That plan quickly changed when Courtney convinced me to take the train into San Francisco. She and Beth were at the farmer’s market and happy to meet up with Renee and me at the Ghirardelli Chocolate Festival. They gave me a great tour of the city and filled me in on some fantastic places to see and visit in the area. It was quite the impromptu blogger meetup, but those ladies are fantastic. I’m hoping that one day I have the opportunity to run behind with them. If you live in the area, make sure to contact Courtney about the huge October blogger meetup.

Returning to my apartment I found that I had nothing to consume but chocolate covered espresso beans. Not the dinner of champions. Sunday I was determined to make it to the supermarket.  So after a coastal drive (man is it gorgeous) and strawberry picking expedition, I made sure to get to Safeway and Whole Foods. I have to thank everyone who contributed to my healthy shopping list. My pantry and refrigerator are now stocked with healthy food options. Hopefully that this will jump-start my healthy lifestyle…

How was your weekend? Did you explore anything new?

Please check out Jessica’s bake sale this Friday to help raise money for the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of America. A very good friend of mine was deeply affected by colitis, so this cause is near and dear to my heart.

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on September 12, 2011, in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. you got to go to ghiradelli. I am so jealous. my boyfriend lives there. Have you met him? Sea Salt Soiree? He’s really great.

    • I definitely picked up a small square of the sea salt (along with a few too many other samples). I think I may wait to savor it since I’ve head such good things about it!

  2. Glad you made it to CA safely!! I will now stalk you so that I can pretend I live in NorCal too! haha. Thanks for mentioning the bake sale!! Your package will be in the mail this week and I’ll be including some extra treats too!!

    Oh and I second what Cat said…sea salt soiree from Ghirardelli is amazing!

  3. I spent my weekend napping and “watching” football. I puffy pink unicorn rainbow heart weekends. I think I’m dying at the thought of the Ghiradelli chocolate festival. Yum.

  4. WOO HOO! I had a great weekend too. I made a new Jewish friend. :)

  5. Welcome to SF! I’m planning on going to the 10/8 meet up so I look forward to meeting you then! :)

Leave a Reply

