Time to get a move on…

Today is the day! Later this afternoon I’ll officially be settling in to my new home in Palo Alto. Eep! I may have a slight spaz attack in the near future (don’t fret, I promise it won’t be too embarrassing).

Saying good-bye to my family and friends has been quite awkward. Although we went out to a “going-away” dinner, nothing felt different about our family gathering. Dinner was quick and then it was back to the house to be attacked by our pups. Same as usual. Honestly I think my best friend’s mother made the biggest deal about my moving away (the woman hugged me four times).

And to say this morning was hectic is an understatement. I didn’t realize how many small items I hadn’t packed. I filled my backpack with random items, shoved my toiletries into my checked luggage, and tried to pack a snack for my extended flight. Six hours with no free food? That seems wrong.

My father was polite to note that my luggage weighs a ton. That is when I started to get more nervous(er). Sidling up to the bag drop I was praying that the scale was similar to the one in my house. My first bag was under the limit but my second bag managed to be 1.5 pounds over. I’m pretty sure the attendant saw the fear in my eyes so she let me slide…

So now I’m waiting anxiously at the gate. As luck would have it, they asked that people “volunteer” to check their roller boards. Thank jeebus! Now I won’t be that obnoxious passenger that attempts to shove an oversize bag in the overhead. And I didn’t have to pay the $125 fee, phew. Things seem to be going my way today, hopefully this keeps up.

California here we come!

Tell me about a new adventure you are embarking on in your life!

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on September 9, 2011, in Life, The Future and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. You will be amazing in Calaforiniahttp. Promise to show me all the fantastic place is I promise to bring defective fortune cookies and crack PB :-)

    • I will do my best to scout out the best gluten free places in town! There are so many fabulous restaurants that I’m sure we’ll find something delicious. I’m not sure, but I get a feeling there is a fortune cookie factory out here so I may accidentally procure some defective fortune cookies. :)

  2. I’m so excited for youuuuuu!

    And I can’t wait to see you in November and visit you new home :)

    My new adventure? Not looking like a slob anymore :)

    • I’m with you on that adventure. I haven’t worn any t-shirts yet and I’m trying to stick to looking like an adult. Next step for me is to start doing my hair properly!

  3. AHH! You are so far away now! I hope you got there easily and that you love it already!

  4. Good luck in this new chapter in your life! Looking forward to reading more about it.

Leave a Reply

