Pack it up, Pack it in

Oh man, it is taking everything I have not to break out and dance to Jump Around right now. (My suggestion: you should probably go to YouTube and enjoy it yourself.)

In other news, it is time. Time to get my rear in gear and all of my dreck packed up to make the big move. For those of you who aren’t aware, I’m far too lazy to drive the 47 hours to my new home (Palo Alto, CA) so I’m shipping my car. This has its advantages and disadvantages. Most importantly it means that I will save several days of my life. I’d love to see some of the sites along the route, but I’m not a fan of driving (read: I’m an awful driver with a bad case of road rage). This also means I won’t be able to utilize all the room in my vehicle. I can technically pack 100 pounds in my trunk, but the back seat will have to be empty (note: I packed my trunk until it could barely shut, probably 200 pounds or so…).

I was under the impression that my car would be shipped last week, but the shipping company had other plans. My car is still sitting in my driveway waiting for its chariot to take it away. I’m hoping they will call today and get it on the road so I’ll have it by next weekend.

Next on my to do list – pack my clothing. I’m not sure if anyone was aware of this, but I may own enough clothing that I don’t have to do laundry for a month (yes, I have that much underwear). According to US Air, if I choose to check a third bag it will cost me $125. What is a girl to do?

Since my cheap bone is bigger than my materialism vein, I decided to purge. Again. I was speaking with some lovely bloggers about my attire and they reminded me that it is quality over quantity. If I haven’t worn an item in a year, I probably shouldn’t hold on to it. And if it doesn’t make my body look bangin’, then I don’t need to ever put it on again. So now I have a thirty pound bag to be donated, I’m hoping someone else enjoys that hoochie dress I used to rock…

To be honest, I’ve managed to pack the majority of my items but then I keep remembering things I want to bring. (Yes, I do need that fourth pair of running shoes.) But now I’m almost scared to put my suitcases on the scale to see how much they weigh. (Although  I’m quite excited to see their body fat percentage.)

Alas, I have little time to worry and need to get my sh*t together. Time to go finish this nonsense so I can shake off the stress it is providing me. Two days and counting!

How do you prepare for a big move? Anyone want to be a pack mule and transport some items for me?

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on September 7, 2011, in Life, The Future and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. I’m so excited that it’s almost time for your big move!!! I’m a total pack rat so I have no good tips for you!

    • I had no idea how much stuff I had until I moved from Ohio back to my parents house. Now that I’m trying to fit it into two and a half suitcases it makes me realize how ridiculous I am at hoarding clothing!

  2. I am so bad at packing that my mother-in-law came up and packed us for our move…down the street. I am so immeasurably if we ever move to another part of town, much less another city or state. Good luck! I think you have smart purging rules.

    • Great minds think alike? If I didn’t have my father during my move out of Ohio, I never would have made it out alive. I’m hoping that I can handle this move on my own, but I may have to hire some studly grad students to carry things out of my car (and by hire I mean pay in beer).

  3. I’m a big BIG advocate of purding things. I’m actually TOO good at getting rid of things. Sometimes I donate things or throw things out and a few months later I’m wondering what the heck I did with the item. ooops! I’m also seriously terrified of one day becoming a hoarder. My grandmother was a legit hoarder, and obviously the tendancy to hoard is genenitc so logically I’m terrified…I totally should have written THAT on my 16 facts sruvey thing…damn! Anyway…

    My process for purging clothes goes something like this:
    1) Does it fit properly (aka do I look good in it)? No: Purge it Yes: Move to step 2
    2) Have I worn it in the last year? No: Purge it Yes: Move to step 3
    3) Is it in good condition (Free of holes, not horribly faded or stretched out)? No: Purge it Yes: Move to step 4
    4) Do I have multiples of it or very similar pieces? Yes: Purge it No: Move to step 5
    5) Does it have senitmental value I can’t part with? No: Purge it. Yes: I’ll let myself keep it though I should not there isn’t that has enough sentimental value to keep me from pitching it.

    That would have worked better as a flow chart.

    Have you considered shipping stuff to yourself via UPS or FedEx? My friend Emily did that when she moved from IL to CA

    • That is an amazing process, I’ll definitely be keeping it for my next move. Wait, I may need it when I get to California and realize I STILL have too much clothing… My tiny little grad apartment can hold so much and I don’t want people to think I’m a hoarder in training (although I am, you should see my mother’s garage).

      I considered shipping my stuff, but managed to fit most of it into my car. There is a good chance my parents will ship a few containers after I move, as for now I’m trying to make due with my suitcases.

  4. It will all work out.

    How exciting for you! Kinda sad that I’m losing a fellow Ohioan.

  5. You should definitely look into shipping your extra stuff instead of sending another bag on the airlines. It’s awful that they charge you so much. I’m also a horrible pack rat so I’d definitely need to find a cheaper way to do things!
    I’m excited for your move and to hear about California!

    • There is no way I’m paying that much to put my bag on the plane, instead I’ll either leave it at my parents or give it to charity. Then again, if I’m leaving it at my parents house that probably means I don’t wear it and should just give it away… Oh the troubles of a pack rat.

      You should come to the Food Buzz conference out in San Fran. All the cool kids are doing it. And then you can hang out with me! Did I mention there is a half that weekend that we could do together?

  6. Moving is bear! I wish you luck with it! And I concur about the clothing–if you haven’t worn it in a year, it’s out of style or doesn’t make your body look bangin’, yesss purge! :-)

  7. That’s outrageous that they charge $125 for a third bag! It would be way cheaper to ship it via UPS if you want to look into it…

    • I deeply considered it, but I managed to get away with just two checked bags and a huge carry on. I’m sure my parents will send me a nice package of random items I forgot, but I’m trying not to worry about that right now.

  8. Pack it up, pack it in. let me begin. I came to win. Battle me thats a sin. I wont tear the sack up. Punk you better back up. Try to play the role and the whole crew will act up. Get up! Stand up! Come on. Come on throw your hands up. If you got the feeling, jump across the ceiling. Muggs is a funk fest, someones talking junk. Yo ill bust em in the eye, and then ill take the punks home. Feel it, funk it amps it are jumping. And I got more rhymes than theres cops that are dunking. Donut shops. Sure nuff I got props from the kids on the hill plus my mom and my pops.

    I came to get down, I came to get down. So get out your seats and jump around.

  9. Hmm, my last big move. Let’s see. I piled everything i owned into laundry baskets and drove to nyc with my fiance in his nissan altima. This was also 2003.

Leave a Reply

