16 Random Facts

My lovely blogger (and real life) friend Sarah requested that I divulge some of my weird secrets/habits with this survey and who was I to say no? So here goes, try not to judge me too harshly…

1.) What’s a nickname only your family calls you?
My mother has been calling me Michelley for years and my father likes to call me Daughter Dearest. I went by Shelly for the first 18 years of my life so most of my family and their friends haven’t quite adjusted to calling me Michelle.

2.) What’s a weird habit of yours?
Let’s add this to the list of things I should not admit, but I have a serious tendency to check, wipe, and pick clean my nose.

3.) Do you have any weird phobias?
I have a fear of being engulfed in flames, but I’m pretty sure most people feel the same way. And when I’m snorkeling I’m afraid of fish touching me (they are ferocious!).

4) What’s a song you secretly love to blast and belt out when you’re alone?
I sing Take Me Or Leave Me all the time (in the shower and in the car). In fact, I recently sang it in a store in NYC and embarrassed Laura and Sarah quite a bit.

5.) What’s one of your biggest pet peeves?
Poor driving skills and syntax error. I have awful road rage. My parents are New Yorkers and I inherited their nasty driving habits. But more importantly, I will not date a person that uses “txt speak.” Maybe I’m a snob but I’m looking for a person that will type out the word “you.”

6.) What’s one of your nervous habits?
I’m a leg shaker. When I get anxious both of my legs start going crazy.

7.) What side of the bed do you sleep on?
When I’m sleeping alone I typically sleep on the right side of the bed. Although in my last two relationships I was somehow forced onto the left side, don’t know how that happened…

8.) What was your first stuffed animal and it’s name?
My brother and I were very original when naming our stuffed animals, we definitely had a Mousey and Lamby (I still own both).

9.) What’s the drink you always order at Starbucks?
I don’t go to Starbucks frequently, but I love their peppermint mocha.

10.) What’s a beauty rule you preach, but never actually practice?
I’m far too lazy and low maintenance to preach any beauty rule. Or follow any for that matter.

11.) Which way do you face in the shower?
I face the water. That is unless I’m dancing, in which case I turn around a lot.

12.) Do you have any ‘weird’ body ‘skills’?
None that I know of.

13.) What’s your favorite comfort food that’s ‘bad’ but you love to eat it anyways?
Homemade chicken pot pie. My ex used to make it for me whenever I was in town. Greatest meal ever.

14.) What’s a phrase or exclamation you always say?
I always ask people, “Can I tell you a secret?”

15.) Time to sleep, what are you actually wearing?
Underoos. Unfortunately that will have to change soon as I’ll have a roommate at school.

16.) What did you used to wear that you thought was cool but now you realize it wasn’t that hot?
Not only did I wear baggy t-shirts but I thought it was cool to tuck the front of them in. True story.

And no survey would be complete without forcing asking others to share their own secrets:

Sarah at Running On Words
Melissa at Journey to Marvelous
Cherie at Cherie Runs This
Sara at Words to Run By
Carly at Carly Bananas

Now it is your turn, tell me a weird habit about yourself. Don’t be afraid, I won’t laugh at you (too loudly).

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on September 2, 2011, in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. LMAO! I’m not girly girly either – I should moisturize… but I doubt that I ever will. Cool clothes? I wore mens button down shirts (ala dress like) with a big thick fat fake patten leather belt and high heals. Big plastic earrings and necklaces – it was the 80’s. Ha!

  2. My weird body skill is that my elbows are double-jointed. They freak people out! Haha

  3. Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

    Woo, thank you for tagging me! :) I love talking about myself…err, I love these things!

  4. Hahaha….I am a big text-speak hater too! Seriously, “to” is only one character longer than “2”. Get with it.

    I haven’t done the previous “tell us about you” posts in the past but I’ll flag this one for this weekend!

  5. I thought everyone faced away from the water during a shower! I honestly never contemplated doing it any differently!*

  6. Oh goody, I needed some blogspiration! And for the record, everyone picks their nose and has peed in the pool, it’s just that not everyone is brave enough to admit it.

  7. Omg I love this! I still wish you had turned it into a vlog like me, but you are ridiculous.

    Some random thoughts:
    1. I cant’ see you as Shelly. Ever.
    2. Your singing is amazing.
    3. You are amazing and I miss you!!

    • Most of the people I grew up with find it far more awkward to call me Michelle these days. In fact it took me a while to get used to the change, but now when people call me Shelly I get confused.

      Cannot wait to see you in November! Don’t forget to buy your plane ticket. :)

  8. My signature drink at Starbucks is a Venti White Chocolate Peppermint Mocha, no whip. That’s why I run, to be able to order such decadence!

  9. Mousey and Lamby…aww. I had Moose, Rabbit, and Big Bear. It’s not about the names, it’s about their personalities.

  10. Haha, love this!! My weird body talent is that I can wiggle my ears…

  11. “when I’m snorkeling I’m afraid of fish touching me”… YES!!! Fish scare the ever loving life out of me- especially the thought of one touching me!

    P.S. I miss your weirdness and I can’t wait to see you again!!!

  1. Pingback: 16 Random Facts | The Journey to Marvelous

Leave a Reply

