Sock it to me {Review & Giveaway}

Your feet are two of the most important parts of your body while running, if you don’t protect them properly they may blister (which can be a serious long term issue). Cotton just isn’t going to cut it! We have to remember that our feet will sweat and they need to breath.

Socks come in many flavors these days. My collection includes a wide variety of fabrics and ankle lengths (although I like them short). So when I was offered the chance to test out some New Balance socks with Coolmax Moisture Management, I jumped at the opportunity.

The Verdict: First thing I noticed? These bad boys are soft! I didn’t expect them to feel so fluffy against my foot. I’ve worn them for a few runs recently and haven’t had any trouble with foot sweat (or smell, not that I smell…). They have some cushioning, but won’t feel heavy on your foot. Perfect for summer or fall weather.

Also, these socks are a fantastic deal. You can get a three pack for $9.99 which is much cheaper than other performance socks. You can purchase them from Academy Sports and Outdoors (based in Texas).

And now for the giveaway:
One lucky reader will win a week’s worth of socks (okay only six pair, but on the seventh day remember to let your toesies go free!).

Now here is how the giveaway works:
Tell me a little bit about your footwear. What type of socks do you wear and what works best for your feet? Also, make sure to check out information about COOLMAX® fabric to find other shapes and sizes that would please you.

Want an extra entry into the giveaway? Well here are a few options:
1. Visit Academy Sports and Outdoors and let me know which COOLMAX/New Balance socks are your favorite
2. Follow me on Twitter
3. Post a tweet about this giveaway, please include @RunningJewess and a link to this post.

Leave an additional comment for each extra entry.

The giveaway will be closing at noon EST on Friday, September 2nd, 2011.

Note: Open to US entries only. The giveaway I received and the items I am distributing have been provided by COOLMAX®. The opinion expressed in this post is solely my own.

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on August 27, 2011, in Product and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 39 Comments.

  1. Hmm, had the first comment ever been a winner?

    I already follow you on Twitter …. :-)

  2. I have lots of different running socks. Right now my favorites are by Balega. In the winter I liked the RoadRunner DryMax crew socks to keep my ankles warm.

  3. And I tweeted your giveaway:

  4. I don’t wear special socks at all and would love to wear something that is suited for running. Seriously.. I wear hanes ankle socks. BLAH

  5. I think I would like the lightning dry no show!

  6. I already follow you on twitter!

  7. I like the lightning dry no shows :)

  8. And I really don’t wear specialty running socks… just “athletic” ankle socks. As for footwear, I’m currently rocking Brooks Adrenaline 11 and Asics GT 2150 (<3 those GT 2100s!!).

  9. I currently wear injini socks on my long runs but old navy moisture wicking socks for treadmill shorter distances

  10. I usually wear Balega socks, which are stupid expensive, but super cozy. I like them, but sometimes they make my feet feel really hot and I hate having hot feet (I sleep with my feet out from under my blanket).

  11. I stalk, erm I mean, follow you on Twitter.

  12. I actually already own a few pairs of the Lightning Dry no-shows (they were at DSW once) and I LOVE them. They are so cool in the summer! I’d really like to try the Lightning Dry low cut, though, because the no shows blister with my Brooks Trances.

  13. I have the same pairs you are wearing and LOVE them!!

    I would like the colored ones this time!

  14. I have some Wright and Feetures brand socks that I love. They hug my feet so nicely! I’d love to try some new kinds of socks, too.

  15. I use a variety of different socks. I have some nice running socks etc. but I often just wear Hanes that I got in a pack of 10 from target and they work fine! But with that being said, some of the running socks I have wick moisture much better. No clear cut favorite though, yet!

  16. So I LOVE academy :) Obviously we have them here and there is one less than 1/2 a mile from my house. Their stuff is so affordable.

    I have to say I’d like their lightening dry no show socks. Those are simliar to ones that I wear when running from my local running store. I also have a pair of nike dry fit (?) socks that I don’t love as much as my other ones. They are not as soft!

  17. I already follow you on twitter, yo!

  18. And I tweeted the giveaway!

  19. I already follow you.

  20. The New Balance Lightening Dry no shows are actually my running sock of choice. I once made the mistake of running in plain white cotton socks because all my running socks were dirty (what can I say I REALLY hate doing laundry!), and that was by far my worst.idea.ever.

  21. I wear balegas/thorlos/smartwools with my Brooks Ghost 3 shoes(need to get a pair of the ghost 4’s!! but would love to try these!

  22. I have found (since wearing my minimalist shoes!) that I really do like thinner socks in the summer. Must have some sort of moisture management property and must be bright-colored! ;) I have not tried New Balance socks, but my mom really liked them! I typically wear Balga. I used to buy cheap socks, but now I know the importance of a good pair of socks and I would be excited to try these!

  23. I follow you on Twitter, of course!

  24. I tweeted your giveaway this am!

  25. I really like the New Balance Women’s Lightning Dry® No Show Socks 6-Pack – Pink!! They seem like they would fit perfectly with my new shoes. Thanks for the giveaway!

  26. I don’t wear any special socks. Every time I try to buy new socks I get overwhelmed with all the options and then just buy the cheapest socks at Target. So having special running socks would be awesome!

  27. I love bright colors! And I love the New Balance Women’s Lightning Dry® No Show Socks 6-Pack – Pink. So bright.

  28. I feeling like I’m spamming your comments now but I follow you on Twitter!

  29. And I tweeted about it! (Against my better judgment… more entries means less chances that I’ll win.) :)

  30. Love a good sock. To be honest, my ALLTIME favorite socks were the ones from volleyball. Long, up to the knee, and always fun to rock, especially when they were tye-dyed!!

  31. I am in desperate need of new socks… so this is a great giveaway :) I’d like to try the New Balance Lightning Dry Low Cut. I don’t like socks that go up too high.

  32. I already follow you on twitter. That is actually where I first saw the giveaway :)

  33. And I just posted about your giveaway on Twitter so other folks will be able to participate.

Leave a Reply

