Chips for all!

Last Friday morning I was seated in a demonstration kitchen in Reading Terminal with twenty of my closest blogging buddies. FritoLay set up an event to discuss their chips, both the flavors and ingredients that go into making the perfect, crunchy snack.

Do not ask what cowboy hats or huge spatulas have to do with FritoLay...

Of course they began with a bit of propaganda. Did you know that three of their lines use only natural ingredients? And that these chips have just as much sodium as many other snacks? (These are the things I learned). I was definitely surprised by some of the statistics they were giving us.  I’m not sure if their presentation will change the way I view chips as a “healthy” snack, but it will definitely make me check more labels to see what ingredients I am putting into my body.

After the presentation, one of the head chefs started to whip up recipe ideas that the other bloggers provided. Some of the items were to be eaten with the chips, others were chip flavor ideas. First there were two coconut curries which were absolutely delicious. They also whipped up an avocado hummus that was phenomenal and bruschetta quinoa salad. I’m glad they gave us the recipes, now we’ll see if I can manage to make these dishes.

While cooking the chef discussed other flavors that had recently been born around the world. I had no idea that there was a Garden Tomato flavored Lays, but it is absolutely delicious (and addictive when slightly inebriated). Also, check out the flavors that exist in other countries; the UK has Chicken Tikka and Worcester Sauce chips.

Because it was absolutely fantastic and (seemed) easy enough to make, I wanted to share one of my favorite dishes. Here is a recipe to make bruschetta quinoa, this would be the perfect side dish for any meal (and I imagine you could eat it as a main dish as well).

Bruschetta Quinoa Salad

Ingredients:
2 Tablespoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil
2 Tablespoons Shallots, minced
1 Tablespoon Garlic, minced
2 Cups Grape Tomatoes, halved
½-1 Cup Vegetable Stock
1 Tablespoon Balsamic Vinegar
1/8 Teaspoon Salt, kosher
1/8 Teaspoon Black Pepper
1 Cup Quinoa, uncooked, make sure to buy a brand that is pre-rinsed to remove the bitter coating
2 Tablespoons Basil, julienned
¼ Cup Manchego Cheese, shredded

Instructions:
· Sauté the shallots and garlic in the oil
· Add the tomatoes and allow to blister
· Deglaze with the balsamic and allow to reduce
· Add the rest of the ingredients except the basil and cheese and simmer until the quinoa is cooked
· Fold in the basil and serve topped with the cheese

How do you feel about chips? Are there any companies you prefer to buy because of their “healthier” nutrition?

Want the recipes for the coconut curry or hummus? Drop me a line and I’d be happy to send them to you!

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on August 25, 2011, in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. delicious? yes. Health food? not even a little.

  2. I am a chip-a-holic. Especially just plain potato chips. YUMMY! I don’t buy them because I have zero self control when it comes to potato chips.

    I don’t know that chips will ever qualify as a health food (though I would love it if they did), but I can appreciate it when companies like Frito-Lay switch to “healthier” more minimalist ingredients. As far as I’m concerned there isn’t any need for anything more than potatoes, oil, and salt.

    Sadly, I don’t actually like Lays potato chips very much (too salty for me!) so I stick to brands like Kettle or the Trader Joe’s brand chips.

    Also, now I want some chips….

    • I’ve got no self control either when it comes to chips. Sometimes I legitimately ask another person to take the bag and walk far away from me. I don’t think I’ve ever tried the TJ’s brand, but maybe that is a good thing.

  3. I will definitely be trying this recipe!

    I think you know how i feel about chips, but for those that don’t know – I LOVE THEM. Seriously, I could live off chips and chips alone. My favorite chips in the entire world are the tortilla chips with a hint of lime.

    My least favorite chip in the world? Spaghetti chips…… damn you.

  4. Bruschetta quinoa salad! Yes please! That sounds so good!*

  5. Haha, I still don’t see them as “health” food but for a cheat meal, when I’m getting slightly tipsy, I may have to have some of those Garden Tomato ones!

    • Whatever you do, do not get them while anywhere near alcohol. All I’m going to say is there was one large bag and three hungry girls, it wasn’t pretty.

  6. Spaghetti chiiiiips!!!

    I seriously love me some chips! Salty. Crunchy. Delicious! This is also the reason I rarely buy them- I have zero self control with a bag of chips!

  7. I love chips, but seriously, there is no such thing as healthy chips. And that’s why I love them so much! I did know about those chip flavors, but only because they have the tomato ones at Subway and I spent a summer in England. I wish I’d been brave enough to try some of those flavors back then!

  8. That quinoa salad sounds great! I tend to buy only baked chips or sunchips these days…I usually can’t bring myself to buy a whole big bag of the unhealthier varieties.

Leave a Reply

