Body Rocking & the SPIbelt Winner is…

Since I’m newly unemployed with little to do, I decided to check out one of the local gyms so I don’t sit on my camp chair all day. Trust me, watching Netflix and relaxing sounds like a fantastic plan, but this lazy bum needs to get up and out at least once a day. Armed with my 7-day pass I entered Lifestyle Family Fitness ready to take as many Les Mills classes I could in a week.

BodyPump was the first class I tried and I absolutely loved it. Not only is there fun music, but the instructor was a ball of energy and I got in a full body weights workout in an hour. My friend explained to me that each song focuses on a single muscle group, so I needed to select my weights accordingly. I consider myself a strong woman, yet I was getting tired after pumping out so many reps to each track. I loved the soreness I felt the next day. I definitely suggest taking BodyPump if you can. You may be sore the next day (if you push yourself to use heavier weights), but it is so worth it.

The next day I tried Zumba toning and couldn’t get into it. Less dancing than typical Zumba and the weights didn’t offer much resistance for the majority of the tracks. It was fun and up beat, but I won’t be taking that class again. Afterward I didn’t feel as if I had worked myself to my limits, I think that running would be much more effective cardio. My friend swears that regular Zumba is more fun and pressured me into trying a class tomorrow. We’ll see if that can give me a thorough workout.

And today, after a class of BodyPump, I checked out BodyFlow. Before entering the class my understanding was that it was a mixture of yoga and pilates choreographed to music. Although it did incorporate these workouts, it wasn’t at all what I expected. Several of the moves were challenging (since I have poor balance when it comes to yoga) but overall I was underwhelmed. I won’t be taking it again

I’d like to try some of the other Les Mills classes in the future. There are a variety of options, from step to spin, unfortunately I won’t get to try them until I settle down in California. Although Stanford has a phenomenal fitness center, I’m hoping to find an inexpensive gym where I can take classes since I find they keep me accountable.

What about you, what is your favorite workout class? Have you tried a Les Mills class?

Yesterday my SPIbelt giveaway ended and I selected a winner (with the help of Random.org). Congratulations to Elise from PhD Strides, you’ve won the SPIbelt of your choice! Please e-mail or DM me the SPIbelt you’d like and your shipping information so I can get the belt to you tout de suite.

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on July 26, 2011, in Running. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I love bodypump — so great you’re getting to try lots of Les Mills classes! I love them!

    and yay for the SPIBELT! I’m so excited!!! I DMed you! Let mek now if you need more info!

  2. I really am gonna try Pump, but I realized I have a 5K on Sunday. 1 week from Friday. Or else.

  3. Jeez, I’ve heard such mixed reviews about Flow. I love the Les Mills classes I’ve tried for the most part (pump, combat, attack, RPM, and Jam) but the flow is definitely the most “different” from what I’m used to… I’ll have to try, but your review def makes me more wary, lol.

  4. I love bodypump, barre method, physique 57, and especially PILOXING. Loveeeee piloxing.

  5. I keep saying I’m going to try bodypump but I never do! Guess I need to give it a shot!

  6. I’m really interested in trying the BodyPump class. I’m not the type of person who can get into doing weights without instruction. I’m looking forward to taking my first class.

    • I love that BodyPump works all my muscles and I don’t have to look like an idiot with the machines or free weights. Well okay, let me be serious, I look like an idiot regardless (you should have seen me shaking my butt at Zumba), but it helps to have an instructor guiding me through the moves.

  7. Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

    I really wish my gym offered a body pump class!

    • Be like me and get a free pass to the local gym! I’ve never belonged to a gym that offered so many classes, I’m loving this free week pass. In the future, if I can afford it, I hope to join a gym with more exciting class offerings (but I’m cheap, so I don’t see it happening anytime soon).

Leave a Reply

