Pump it up!

This past weekend has been full of friend-filled entertainment. Although my AC is still broken (so not thrilled to live in a sauna), I managed to have quite a bit of fun. On Friday evening my friends from every corner of my life showed up to serenade me before I run away move to the other side of the country. Have I mentioned I love karaoke? I may not be the best singer in the world, but that won’t stop me!

Here is a little teaser. My friend Adam (who is a local celebrity) and I rocked out to Meat Loaf. Although the entire video of the night is available for viewing, I think it would be best not to force that on anyone. Ever.

After wearing my new heels all night, I was ready to get some rest. In my sauna. Saturday was a lovely relaxing day with my friend who came in to visit from Toronto. We lounged and enjoyed Jeni’s ice cream before going to see Evil Dead the Musical. It seems I’ve never actually watched Evil Dead, but that production was absolutely amazing. We laughed, we cringed, we got splattered with blood.

Today, after brunch and more relaxation, I deeply considered going for a run. Unfortunately, due to an evil mother nature, the weather is brutal around these parts.  A dew point of 72°? No thank you! And then someone called me out on my laziness… So I ran. Not far, not fast, but I ran. Do you have any idea what it is like to walk back into your apartment and continue sweating since it is just as hot as the outside world? I hope you never do.

So it was a lovely weekend and tomorrow I return to work for an abbreviated week. Three days and then unemployment! And my birthday (if you’re wondering, I’d love a pony).

What lovely things did you do this weekend? What song would you sing at karaoke?

Just a warning, there will be evidence of this later on in the week. Prepare yourself. And check back tomorrow (or Tuesday) for a fantastic giveaway, you won’t want to miss out.

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on July 17, 2011, in Life, Social and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. My lovely weekend involved a family cookout in the country (I’m a city girl). We were rained on for the 3rd year in a row. I think it’s the same rain cloud that purposely tries to ruin our food and fun :). The first karaoke song that popped in my head was ‘I Will Survive’. I don’t know why.

  2. The Evil Dead was amazing! We liked it so much that we wanted to go see it again before the show closes, but the tickets are really expensive. I will say that the movies are a little bit more horror than I can handle, so we won’t be watching those.

    • Did you go to the show downtown or in Marysville?
      I saw a clip of the movie and it looked more like a spoof than actual horror, but I could be wrong. My plan is to have a strong man close by to keep me safe and perhaps a pillow to hide behind if necessary. :)

  3. Unfortunately I am familiar with the feeling of continuing to sweat after my run. I actually have the problem of still sweating AFTER I take my shower! It probably doesn’t help that I also reside in a sauna. Yep, I keep my air off to save money, and adapt my body to running in the heat, or something like that.

    • You are crazy! I’m cheap, but I can’t survive the ridiculous heat of my apartment. I’m not a fan of sweating while in the comfort of my own home. How do you find any relief?

Leave a Reply

