The Importance of Sleep

You know, some days I forget how important sleep is. And then I have a dreadful night of sleep and remember quite a bit. Waking up in a ball of sweat this morning I realized it was going to be a long day…

See, yesterday I returned to my apartment after a week of vacation to find that my air conditioning was completely bonkers. My apartment was over 90° and wouldn’t cool. Fortunately I was able to escape to a friend’s (with functioning AC) for the evening, but I returned to get to bed. Boy was that a mistake.

My friend lent me a box fan, which I set up next to my side of the bed, and I opened my windows. Splayed on top of the covers, I found myself tossing and turning. About one in the morning I realized that just wasn’t going to work. I plopped onto the floor in front of the fan and tried again. I may have accumulated four hours of sleep all night.

On the plus side? I’m sure I sweat off a pound or two. (That is what I get for sleeping in a sauna.) I’m praying that maintenance will fix this little issue for me by the time I return home, if not, I’ll be setting up camp on a friend’s couch.

Overall this experience emphasized how necessary it is to get a good nights sleep every day. Not just sleeping in on the weekends, but actually making sure to get a solid amount each night. Typically I am lucky to get seven hours, although I feel I might need eight hours these next few weeks to make up for my sleep deficit.

How many hours a night do you sleep? How do you recover after a night of insomnia?

In other news, I just gave my two one-and-a-half weeks notice to work. As of July 20th I’ll be an unemployed bum. I. Cannot. Wait!

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on July 11, 2011, in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I know I don’t get enough, I usually sleep 4 hours a night.
    Last night was actually less and I’m suffering for that this morning :(
    No matter what time I go to sleep though I’m up no later than 530 (been that way since I was 10–so 33 yrs later-damn i’m old)

    here’s to your a/c being fixed when you get back today! :)

    • Only 4 hours of sleep? That doesn’t seem healthy! I hope that you manage to make it through the day without suffering too much (I wouldn’t be able to!).

      • There was an article recently suggesting that some people are naturally “short sleepers,” meaning that their bodies don’t require the same amount as the rest of us, so they usually only need about 4 hours. Personally, I need 8, preferably 10, to function!

Leave a Reply

