Boob Job

It was seven years ago today (well, yesterday) that I took the plunge and went under the knife. When I tell most people that I’ve had a “boob job”, they assume I got implants. The girls are still rather large and I always make sure they look their best. But I didn’t increase them. I was sixteen years old when I underwent breast reduction surgery.

Let’s be serious, any type of plastic surgery is risky and especially for a young girl. I was unhappy, I didn’t know what I wanted I just knew I didn’t want them. I went into the surgery not knowing the outcome or how I’d feel. I’ll be honest, I never knew what the recovery process would be like.

Waking up from the surgery I was loopy and in pain. I couldn’t look at them for quite a while (showering was not a fun process). It took several weeks for me to become remotely comfortable with what I had done.

Seven years later and I can honestly say I’d do it again.  This time I’d be less naive; ask the surgeon for a smaller set and make sure to douse them daily with Vitamin E to diminish the scars. Some days I’m still not overjoyed with how they look, but I know I made this decision for a reason. I can comfortably run with one sports bra, I can wear most tops without buying up a size, and I can find a bra without going to a specialty store.

Cosmetic surgery isn’t for everyone. I suggest researching extensively before making an appointment with a plastic surgeon. And most importantly, make sure you’re doing it for the right reasons (I’m still uncertain if I did).

On a lighter note, I had a lovely day with my family and friends. Yes, we ate a bit much, but these things happen. I leave you with this cuteness:

Mardi & his new toy pterodactyl

Have you ever considered going under the knife? What would make or break your decision?

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on July 2, 2011, in Body and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I have wanted a breast reduction forever! The only reason I haven’t taken the plunge is because I want to be able to breast feed and that’s not always possible post-surgery. My husband already promised we’d get it done when we finish having kids though. Until then I’m working on strengthening my shoulders and back, but it’s only getting me so far. Thanks for sharing this!

    • I wasn’t really planning ahead when I got my surgery. I’d like to have children someday, but who knows if I’ll be able to breast feed. I think you are very smart to hold back until you’ve had kids.

  2. I’ve never had to consider a reduction, but I’ve considered what I’ll do post weight-loss. It’s something that will require a lot of recovery, and I won’t do it until I’ve maintained for a couple of years. So…I’m thinking about it, but it’s just a thought at this point.

    • Any type of surgery is a major process, I think you are doing the right thing by thinking it over thoroughly. If I had been less naive, I’d probably have weighed the options a bit more and waited a few years.

  3. Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

    First, I think it’s awesome that you’re talking about this because I feel like it’s kind of a less talked about subject. I think it’s something a lot of people think about but not a lot have the guts to discuss – so props to you. I think everyone has something about themselves that they’d want to change. I get really hung up on the bags under my eyes… I have always had sinus problems so it always looks like I’m exhausted or I’ve been in a bar fight. That would be what I would go under the knife for… if there was a way to fix it.

    • Where I come from, plastic surgery is more common than anyone would like to believe. I wasn’t the first girl in my high school class to go under the knife and I wasn’t the last. Yeah, I grew up in that area. I bet the bags under your eyes just give your face character, it shows you are human and that you’ve lived a little!

  4. Bravo for putting this out there Michelle! I might consider going under the knife after I lose all my weight but like Kenlie, I’d want to maintain my goal weight for a year or more first. I’m not sure if I’ll need it…my skin may or may not be overly saggy when I finish losing my weight. So far it’s okay but the more weight I lose, the more I can see the skin sagging. :(

    • First off, I’ve seen photos and I know for a fact that you look fantastic. I can’t believe that you have much skin saggage. Is it possible that your skin will bounce back with some weight training/toning?

  5. reduction is on my list to do! I’m working on gettin back down to my ‘normal’ weight (meaning the weight I plan on staying rather than going up/down/up/down) so once there then I’ll go see the surgeon, get a quote and hopefully no longer have to buy shirts a size bigger cuz of the ‘girls’ and wearing multiple sports bras, tanks when running and be able to wear the ‘cute’ shirts that if you’re DD, everything falls out of it! lol

    • The doctor told me that my weight wouldn’t factor into the surgery, since I wasn’t huge losing weight wouldn’t decrease the girls much (supposedly). And I have to admit, I’m still quite large (36DD). If/when you get the procedure, be realistic about how small you want to go; I wasn’t and now I still have some issues with them.

      • well see I initially gained 80 lbs…I’m normally 120 so I have/want to get back to that before I do the surgery since I’m not at my goal weight again…I’m 135 so once at 125 or so I’ll go…and ohhhhhh I want to be no bigger than a C… I’m a 38DD right now…I’d be good being a C…thanks :) and sorry you still have issues :(

Leave a Reply

