Thankful Thursday

Now that it is practically the end of the week (only 13 more work hours!), I’m getting excited for vacation and spending time with the people I care about. In honor of Thankful Thursday, here is a variety of things I’m grateful for this week.

Yesterday we ran a ladder at speed training. We’ve done ladders before, but not like this. The sprints were: 200m, 400m, 600m, 800m, 600m, 400m, 200m. Did I mention I’ve never run a 600m or 800m sprint? I was terrified, but I did it. Dear goodness I’m thankful for my legs and lungs for not failing on me. Hopefully these longer sprints will help me continue to improve on my mile time and overall pace.

Today my best friend Lisa will be in town with her boyfriend Guy. I haven’t seen these two since last September! They are on their cross country journey from San Francisco back to Philadelphia and I’m the last stop. We won’t have much time together tonight, but I’m sure I’ll see them when I’m back home.

Which leads me to the most exciting news, I get all of next week off (and paid). I fly out tomorrow afternoon and arrive in Philadelphia at the same time as our friends from New Orleans. Sadly there are no drive-thru margaritas to enjoy, but I’m sure we’ll find something delicious. My entire family will be coming in to celebrate the fourth of July, which means a lot of eating, drinking, and general chaos. I plan to spend the next week out by our pool (becoming less pale), playing with the new pup, and potentially running with my father.

Mardi, the cutest and newest member of our clan. I'm hoping to take him for his first run ever this week.

What are you thankful for this week? How will you be enjoying your long weekend?

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on June 30, 2011, in Running, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Yey for having the week off that is wonderful! :)

    Your pup is such a cutie does he run also? ;)

    I’m thankful to also be spending time with family and for good things in the works for my hubs job search! :)

    • He hasn’t been out for a run yet, too young. I’m hoping that he will be ready when I’m home this week or in August.

      Hope you enjoy your time with your mother and Teddy Bear. Best of luck to Nick in his job search!

Leave a Reply

