My beloved Fiona

I don’t know what I would do without you!

Today a few lovely ladies on the twittersphere were discussing product sizing, especially for us that are more endowed. Finding an appropriate sports bra has always been difficult for me, I remember wearing two bras just to get through a workout. It was miserable.

At some point (seven or so years ago) someone introduced me to the “Last Resort” bra. What a name. Personally I like to call it my “dominatrix” bra. With hooks up the entire front I felt kinky every time I put it on. My friends found it quite entertaining, I think they were jealous. And since I had no other options, I wore it constantly until I was able to put on a slightly smaller brassiere.

Even when I decreased in size, I still had some trouble determining which bra would be most effective. I went through some dreadful cotton bras that I found in big box stores, but  I bounced in them and that just isn’t pleasant (you know what I’m talking about). And then one day I was perusing Title 9 when I saw her, my Moving Comfort Fiona.  It had four plus dumbbells, it had to work! I ran out and purchased one to test. I jumped up and down, I ran jogged on the treadmill, I attempted to jiggle as much as possible. In the end it didn’t make me feel like I was about to hit myself in the face. Success! Since then I have purchased nearly a dozen Fiona’s in varying colors. When I found out that Moving Comfort made a racerback in my size I was ecstatic. Do you know how many cute tops I had been missing out on for all these years?! At the moment I only own one Juno, but it is on my wishlist for this summer (did I mention my birthday is coming up?).

So tell me – What sports bra works best for your girls? What athletic brands fit you the best?

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on June 23, 2011, in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I love the Juno bra! Recently bought a Lulu bra to try out… still in testing!

    • Hmm, I’ve never considered Lulu, I just assumed they didn’t make an option in my size. Did you get the Ta-ta Tamer? You’ll have to let me know how you like it!

  2. I was just browsing the Title 9 catalog and noticed their rating system. I have to say not being so well endowed I’ve never had too much trouble with the basic sports bra though I do love ones with a mesh athletic fabric as opposed to cotton. I feel lucky because I played rugby with a bunch of ladies that wore 2 bras even after breast reduction surgery!

    So glad you found a brand you like! :)

    • I’m always jealous of my smaller chested friends, you get so many cute options! Do me a favor and go buy a funky print racerback (since I’ll never be able to!). I feel bad for your rugby-mates, you shouldn’t have to wear two bras after going through a surgery like that.

  3. I puffy pink unicorn heart my Fiona! I want to try the Juno but it doesn’t come in my size.

    • That is so rude of them! Let’s write to Moving Comfort to convince them to make more sizes. And while they’re at it, more neon colors and maybe some crazy patterns.

  4. I LOVE LOVE LOVE the Fiona! I recommend it to everyone, big chested or not. I bought my first one at the running store before my first half marathon, and I’ve bought several since. They have them for really reasonable on Amazon! I think I paid $40 at the running shop, and they are around $20-$25 on Amazon.

    • Whoa, I had no idea they were so inexpensive on Amazon. Thanks for the tip! It looks like they have the Juno reduced as well. This could be bad, I may have a few new sports bras before my move…

  1. Pingback: Bra Maintenance | The Running Jewess

Leave a Reply

