Purging

Although I’ve been saying it for several weeks, it is finally sinking in that I will be moving in a month and a half (43 days). Since I will be living in grad student housing, I won’t need to bring any furniture. On the down side this means I need to sell everything that fills my two bedroom apartment. And now, as I look around, it seems like I own far more than I ever knew. Sigh, this is going to be a lot of work. I want to get rid of everything with ample time so I can limit my stress levels closer to the day of, yet how does one survive without any furniture?

Fortunately I don’t have emotional attachments with most of the furniture, but I was informed (by the parentals) that I may need to sell my bedroom set. This is the one piece of furniture I’ve ever purchased on my own and it is gorgeous. We’ve gone through a lot together, that set and me, and I don’t particularly want to get rid of it. What’s worse? I know I won’t even recoup a teensy bit of the price I paid. We’ll see how that one works out for me.

Then, while I was putting away laundry yesterday, I realized that I own too much clothing. Way too much for me to take with me on my cross country journey. So before I put anything into the drawers, I started removing items. When was the last time I wore you? Where did I get you and why? Will I really miss you or am I being overly sentimental? And next thing you know, I had a big ol’ pile of clothes to giveaway. I’m almost positive I could clothe a person for quite some time.

But I won’t lie, it was tough. There are items I’ve been holding onto for ages. The skirt I wore to my sophomore high school homecoming or the shirt I bought with my first real boyfriend. I’ve been holding onto these items for my own personal reasons. And now it is time to let go. Yes, they held great meaning to me, but I’ll always have those memories. It will be better for someone less fortunate to enjoy the clothing rather than wasting space in my dresser. Time to let go, purge myself of the unnecessary, and prepare for the next chapter in my life. Onward and upward, right?

Do you have difficulty letting go of material objects? How do you manage to remain level headed during the process?

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on June 18, 2011, in Life, The Future and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I’ve been doing something similar recently, even though this is the first year since I moved out that I’m not moving. I love buying new clothes, but I’m terrible about making room in my dresser; I finally went through a couple of weeks ago and pulled out as much stuff as I could part with. I’m trying as hard as I can to ditch stuff anything that’s “for when I’m skinner,” and anything I haven’t worn in at least a year. And it’s tough!

    I have a hard time getting rid of small items with sentimental value, like little useless boxes or ornaments. But the way I’ve been going through that kind of stuff has been, “If I forgot I had it, unless there’s some amazingly compelling reason to keep it, I have to get rid of it.” And you know what I REALLY need to get rid of? This old tupperware box full of old CDs!! WTF!

    • You have a box full of CDs? I didn’t know people had those anymore :) I’m trying to figure out if I should keep or trash some of my college notebooks. I haven’t looked at them in ages, but they may help if I ever want to relearn Differential Equations, right?

  2. I loathe moving with every fiber of my being. I always have way too much stuff, but I can’t bear to part with it. Especially the books, I own way too many, but I love them all. I will say, usually towards the end of packing I just get pissed off and throw a whole bunch of stuff away, which is good and bad.

    • Fortunately for me, my father is a fantastic packer. Whenever he helps me pack he will look at an item and say, “Do you really need this?” And chances are I’ll let him throw away quite a bit. I need that extra push to rid me of my dreck. Don’t think I could do this move alone.

  3. It can be so hard to let go of clothing and other things – especially if you have memories associated with them. I am pretty good about purging – out of necessity if nothing else!

  4. I’ve been going through a period of purging too…but it’s always hard for me to let go of things. Sometimes you just don’t know if you’ll miss it or not! Good luck with preparing for your move. :)

  1. Pingback: Pack it up, Pack it in « The Running Jewess

Leave a Reply

