Things I shouldn’t do…

A random list.  Because lists are wonderful. Now for the things I shouldn’t do, these are all habits I’ve recently realized have creeped up in my life and I need to squelch as quickly as I can:

  • Eat late at night or within two hours of going to sleep
    Last night I was invited to a fantastic Yelp event which offered delicious and free food. I couldn’t turn it down. I went, enjoyed the samples, and returned home at 10pm stuffed. I had a great time, but it wasn’t my best life choice. No more eating late, I’ll stick with the early-bird special, thank you.
  • Boast about Tell people that I’m leaving Ohio in 47 days
    This legitimately bit me in the butt last week when a coworker, who had intentionally been kept in the dark, heard from an outside source that I was leaving. Why did I tell the other person? Because I’m foolish. Yes, I’m leaving soon, but it isn’t necessary to scream it off the mountain tops. I don’t want to offend anyone or get myself in trouble.
  • Blog, tweet, gchat, and dilly-dally while at work
    Yes, I say that as I write this at work. I see how it is slowly taking part of my 8 hours (a huge part) and that isn’t fair to my boss. He has been great about the fact that I’m leaving and I owe it to him to focus a bit more.*
  • Make excuses to stay in at night
    There was a time when you’d never find me in my apartment, I’d be out socializing. These days I make excuses to stay in, sit on the couch, and watch awful television (that I won’t admit to). Now I’m not saying I want to return to my previous state, but I need to get out more frequently. Enjoy my friend’s company while I’m still in the area and see less of my couch.
  • Pine after fried food (and chocolate and cookies and so much more) – 
    Yes, fried food is absolutely a fantastic thing, but it isn’t great for my thighs. I need to stop wanting things that I’ll be upset about after eating. Tater tots just aren’t worth it (must keep reminding myself).

Now for a more positive spin, how about a list of things I should do:

  • Continue to work out regularly – 
    A good habit I have, I work out at least five times a week and I begin to feel guilty when I take a rest day. Exercising is a drug and I’m hooked.
  • Take more time to run, regardless of the speed
    Since I’ve been doing P90X more frequently, I’ve neglected my running shoes. They deserve to go for a spin or two every week and I need to get back on it. My next marathon is far (seven months) away, but I can’t forget about it.
  • Be nicer to my mother (don’t tell her I wrote that…) – 
    My mother possesses the ability to get on my first and last nerve, I don’t know how or why but it has been this way for years. She has gone through a lot in the past. I need to remember that she is my biggest fan and wants nothing but the best for me. We’ll see how this goes when I return home for a week in July.
  • Cook more frequently – 
    I know how to, so there is no excuse for my eating out habits. This is something I need to focus on as I take the next step into my life and become a graduate student. I’ll feel more guilty spending money on a student budget.

So those are some of my bad habits in a nutshell. We’ll see in the coming weeks how successful I am at altering them to fit my life.

What habits are you currently changing? How do you combat bad habits?

Have you entered my Coach’s Oats Giveaway? Do it for a chance to win week’s worth of delicious oats. The giveaway ends tomorrow (Wednesday), so enter today!

*I closed my browser for quite some time after writing this. Must. Be. Productive. And yes, then I came back to finish…

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on June 14, 2011, in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I enjoyed this post today!

    Many of these things are things that I also need to not do/do. The fried foods?? Oh, come on! How does this pregnant lady in South LA even stand a chance against fried foods?? They. Are. EVERYWHERE. Seriously, I have to scour restaurant menus to find something broiled or grilled.

    Which brings me to Point #2…maybe if I was making more of an effort to cook then I wouldn’t be so concerned with what was on restaurant menus. :)

    And I need to be nicer to my mama too. She’s done a lot for me and I know I don’t tell her enough how much I appreciate and love her.

    • I don’t think I’d survive in LA. Fresh beignets? My downfall. I’ve been to New Orleans three times and I just can’t get enough. As for you, you’re eating for two, indulge a little (I’ll live vicariously through you).

  2. I originally read this post on the train so I couldn’t comment right away. Now that I’m in front of a computer, allow me to ramble!

    Your list of do’s and do not’s are pretty great ideas. I should (and will!) adopt a few of these myself. Stupid fried food… *grumbles*

    However, I do feel compelled to apologize. It’s quite clear that you find excuses to stay in and laze around on your couch because you can’t stand to be without my company. Dilly dallying and what not. It’s all me. I get it.

    It’s totally my fault. If I wasn’t so charming and engaging, you’d find reason to leave your house and take a breather from ol’ Rontastic. I could very well try and tone it down… but… uh… why deny yourself? It’s not like I’m battered and deep fried. :D

    For realz. Great list. I continue to draw inspiration from your will power!

    –Ron

  3. I’m so excited for you and your new start at grad school! yey!

    I can totally understand the desire to do other things at work esp when you know that you’re leaving. I think that it’s great that you are looking to not only cut back on some distractions but boost positive habits as well. I think we all struggle with the night and fried food cravings sometimes! ahck!

    • Thanks Jenny! I’m more anxious/nervous about grad school, but I can’t wait to get started (and to live in California).

      Most nights I’m great about avoiding food after 9pm, but then there are those nights when I just can’t say no (especially when it is free and delicious, aka not made by me). Like last night… I’ll get better soon, I promise!

  4. oooh
    now I think I need to make my list.
    it
    be
    really
    long :)

    • I don’t believe you! Judging from everything I’ve read, heard, and seen, you have very limited bad habits. Excessive cheerfulness. Boundless motivation. Extremely positive spirit. Yeah, that seems to be it. :)

  5. I am new to your blog and I am loving it!!! :)

  6. LOVE this. Hmmm….must make my own list

  7. Great list! I’m with Miz…I think my list would be excessively long too!!

  1. Pingback: And the winners are… « The Running Jewess

  2. Pingback: 7 Links « The Running Jewess

Leave a Reply

