Coach’s Oats {Review & Giveaway}

A few weeks ago I was the proud winner of a Coach’s Oats giveaway from Kerri O. I eat oatmeal six days a week, so this was perfect for me. I was super excited to receive my package and boy did it make my day. The folks over at Coach’s were too good to me! I was flabbergasted to see the cute little arrangement they had made. They even gave me a bowl, dried fruit, and cinnamon to use in my oatmeal preparations.

On Sunday, after a hectic Saturday of Warrior dash and bar going, I decided to take it easy. I forewent brunch (which is very odd for me) and opted for a hot bowl of oatmeal with strawberries. Because I’m a tad foolish, I prepared the oats with skim milk rather than water. I’m not the best at reading, for some reason I thought you were supposed to cook them with milk. Fortunately for me, the oatmeal tasted delicious. It has a different texture than my typical Quaker oats, it didn’t get mushy like I have become accustom to. I didn’t add any sugar or sweeteners, with the strawberries it was the perfect flavor.

This week I decided to try out the overnight oats prep method. I chopped up half a banana, added 1 cup of vanilla almond milk, and mixed with 1/2 cup of oats. Popped it in the fridge overnight and brought it to work with me. Having never tried cold oatmeal before I didn’t know what to expect, now this was a different taste that I’m not used to. Oddly, they reminded me of charoset (a passover dish prepared with apples, walnuts, wine, and cinnamon). Since I used sweetened almond milk, it was a tad too sweet. Next time I’d forgo the milk and try it with greek yogurt to get a thicker consistency. The great thing? I was satiated all morning and didn’t feel the desire to snack at all.

The Verdict: Coach’s Oats are absolutely delicious, it is much faster to prepare than steel cut oats, and provides a bigger kick than rolled oats. I’m looking forward to being more creative with my recipes, adding different fruits and maybe even trying the a peanut butter version. I’ve seen recipes for pancakes and cookies, those are definitely on the list of things to try next!

And now for the giveaway:
Because they are so wonderful, Coach’s has kindly donated 10 single serve packages to be given away at my discretion! What does that mean for you? Well two lucky individuals will be receiving 5 single serve packages. That is a week’s worth of deliciousness!

Now here is how the giveaway works, it is tough so pay attention:
1. Think about why you love oatmeal.
2. Post a comment letting me (and the world) know why you enjoy it so much.

Want an extra entry into the giveaway? Well here are a few options:
1. Follow me on twitter
2. Post a tweet about this giveaway, here is an example:
@mkosterich is giving away two delicious @coachsoats packages.  Whatever you do, don’t go to https://therunningjewess.wordpress.com because I don’t want more competition!
3. Subscribe to my blog (if you already do, let me know)

Leave an additional comment for each extra entry.

The giveaway will be closing at noon EST on Wednesday, June 15th, 2011.

Note: Open to US entries only. The giveaway I received and the items I am distributing have been provided by Coach’s Oats.  The opinion expressed in this post is solely my own.

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on June 9, 2011, in Product and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 39 Comments.

  1. Oh my goodness Michelle I have been wanting to try Coach’s oats! I definitely hope that I win this giveaway! :)

    I love oats because they are hearty, healthy, and versatile! :)

  2. I’m so glad that you suggested following you on twitter because I thought I already was! ahhck well mistake remedied :) I am now!

  3. and I tweeted! I edited the suggested tweet a bit bec twitter said it was too long

    Hope you’re having a great day! :)

  4. I love oatmeal becuse it is delicious.. and it fills me up.. and there are so many things I can add to it.. like berries, PB, chocolate (I could go on forever!)

  5. I follow you on twitter!

  6. Since I live a clean lifestlye and eat very few processed foods, oatmeal is a great friend to me! Its my versatile, slow-digesting, breakfast buddy! Carbs makes me happy, therefore eating my am oatmeal makes me a happy girl! I use my oats in a smoothie, cooked warm with berries, as an oatmeal pancake, or baked in clean muffins.

    Oats give me the energy to tackle my day! That’s why I love them!

  7. I’m just starting to like oatmeal, so I’d love to try Coach’s Oats! Currently I just use rolled oats from the bulk bin at Whole Foods. I’d love to try something different!

  8. And, I already follow you on Twitter. :)

  9. AND, I already re-tweeted your giveaway, before I even entered!! How’s that for a good blogging friend? :P

  10. I love oats because they taste amazing, are versatile, are good for me, are easy to make AND keep me full!!!

  11. I love oatmeal because it is good for me and I can throw anything I want in it to make it taste however I want.

  12. It is the perfect start to the day. I have oatmeal every morning at work!

  13. YUM! Love the overnight method – I will have to try that – BRILLIANT! PS that’s how I wanna eat my coaches oats!

  14. following you on twitter silly ;)

  15. tweeted…. **fingers crossed**

  16. I love oatmeal because it’s wholesome, delicious and filling. I’ve never tried coach’s oats, but I’d like to!

  17. I’m aboutto follow you on Twitter (unless I already am)!

  18. Yeah, I thought so. I already follow you (that’s good, right?) But now (reluctantly) I tweeted about this giveawy.

  19. I’ve been liking and eating oatmeal for years for the energy that it gives me. I used to have a bowl before every basketball game (don’t ask why I didn’t before other sports, I have no clue…lol).

  20. I follow you on Twitter via @eatslovehappy!

  21. I love oatmeal! It’s my “go to” breakfast. It’s warm, filling, and makes my tastebuds happy happy. :)

  22. I already follow you on Twitter.

  23. Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

    I love oatmeal because it’s filling and doesn’t upset my stomach. :)

  24. Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

    I follow you on twitter :)

  25. Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

    And subscribe.

  26. MOM4everandever

    I love it because I feel better, its so versatile and eating it helped me lose 50 pounds so far….

  27. Oatmeal is warm and makes you think of home when you want warm and fuzzy and I like it cold for a snack.

  28. I love it because its good. I’ve loved it since I was a little girl and I have been making it for myself since I was 8. It was the first think I learned to cook and after that NO ONE could make it good enough so I had to make it myself. I eat it 5 out of 7 days and I wouldn’t give it up for anything. I’ve never tried Coach’s Oats but I would love to. I hope I win!!

  29. I follow you on Twitter

  30. Oats remind me of childhood, warm breakfasts in a snowy winter morning. Plus you can add any ingredients you have on hand–nuts, fruit, honey.

  1. Pingback: Girl’s Night « The Running Jewess

  2. Pingback: Poor Form « The Running Jewess

  3. Pingback: Things I shouldn’t do… « The Running Jewess

Leave a Reply

