Becoming a Warrior

Yesterday I participated in and survived the Warrior Dash. It was a beautiful day and I was lucky to travel to the site with three lovely hashers.  When we arrived at the parking location, it was blatantly apparent why we were told to arrive an hour early. It was packed! We parked the car, hopped on a shuttle, and were dropped off in a field full of runners. Pretty quickly we met up with the other hashers and determined that we’d go rogue and run in the 11:30am wave. Originally we were each placed in different heats, but where is the fun in that?

After some stretching and mental prep, we were off. The first obstacle? A ridiculous hill that didn’t end. In trail running fashion, I decided to walk quickly up the hill rather than hurt myself attempting to run it. There were some easy obstacles and then we were submerged up to our necks in a dirty-water hole. It was technically walkable, but I chose to swim across. From there we bounded over cars and through a maze of tires. We crawled on our hands and knees in the Tunnel of Terror. My friend Andy, who happens to be 6’7, had a lot of difficulty with the crawling and ducking obstacles. It was entertaining to hear him struggling with these aspects, then again, he kicked butt when climbing over walls and vehicles (where I failed).

We reached the final few obstacles, which were arranged less than a half mile from the finish, and were cheered on by our adoring fans (our friends who didn’t manage to run). We climbed a cargo net, walked the plank, waded through yet another body of water, climbed a twenty foot wall, hopped over some fire, and finally went through the worst mud pit you could imagine. And I paid to do this?! Thankfully all of the obstacles were manageable. I was nervous that I wouldn’t be able to traverse the walls, but they were much easier than I imagined. I suppose they had to make them feasible for all sizes and abilities.

Overall I had a really entertaining time. I crossed the finish line with two friends in forty-five minutes, muddy from head to toe. We grabbed our teensy medals, a cup of water (they didn’t offer bottles, I wasn’t pleased), bananas, and meandered over to the fire hoses. Yes, fire hoses. Have you ever been sprayed directly in the face with one? Somewhat painful, but it felt great to be cleaned off. Here is to a great day with some great people!

Admit it: What messy fun have you been having lately? What have you done that has made you feel like a warrior?

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on June 5, 2011, in Running, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I did one a couple weeks ago. So fun! But they didn’t have firehoses — they were spraying us from poolwater delivery trucks. Not enough pressure to remove the mud, but at least it wasn’t painful!

    • I can’t imagine how you’d get cleaned off without the pressure, it was completely necessary.
      Looks like you had a great time on race day as well :)

  2. I have a friend who did a Warrior Dash a few weeks ago. I just don’t do mud. :-P

    • I don’t do mud either! Well, most days that is. The course was shockingly clean up until the mud pit… Afterward I dragged my friends over to the hose, I did not want to be muddy one second longer. We’ll see if the mud comes out of my running gear (a girl can hope, right?).

  3. I have always thought that these races sound so fun, but so scary in a way as well. Being sprayed with a fire hose does sound a little painful. LOL

    • I think the worst part was the start line, I didn’t know what to expect and I have a tendency to get nervous before a race begins. After that it was all uphill (somewhat literally). And the fire hose? Well it was refreshing to rid myself of all the mud!

  4. Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

    It looks like you had so much fun at Warrior Dash. I just did one a few weeks ago and loved it. I never knew I could be so muddy. The hose down was definitely necessary haha.

    • The hose down definitely helped, but sadly I think the mud is too caked on my clothes to salvage them. I definitely didn’t imagine I’d get quite that muddy!

  5. It sounds like you had fun in the Dash! I have some other friends that have done it and they had a blast.
    I haven’t been having any messy fun lately…unless my creamed corn cooking on Saturday counts, haha!

  6. oh my goodness what a fun race! :) I ran a few times with the Chicago hashers but since I don’t drink much the post run beer chugging was a bit much for me!

    I haven’t done too much messy stuff lately but I did love playing rugby in college! :)

    • I’m not much of a beer drinker either, somehow I weasel my way out of drinking it at the end. Did you get a hash name?

      The rugby team at my school was a “drinking club with a rugby problem” so it seems it would be very similar to hashing :)

Leave a Reply

