And we’re back

After a six hour drive, I finally arrived home safe and sound. Boy was that a long drive to complete by myself, not at all a fan of driving by myself. But yes, it was worth it. I really enjoy spending time with my friend Adeel and his gorgeous cat Leo (he looks mildly evil in the photo below, but I swear he is the sweetest and I’m not a cat person!). We spent a good amount of time relaxing (read: watching awful television and movies), but it was highly entertaining at all times.

On Saturday we ventured into downtown Toronto for the day. Thankfully the weather people were wrong and the rain held off. We explored Canada’s longest street – Yonge (apparently it is pronounced young). There was a cool South Asian music festival set up, which I would have enjoyed more had I not left my purse in a store down the block… This was cause for some frantic running, but I retrieved my purse safe and sound. Thank goodness! We had a really great time downtown and I am now the proud owner of a Toronto sweater from Root’s, I’m sure it will be super comfy on those “cold” San Francisco nights. I may also have some new Godiva chocolates in my possession, but I’m not sure how long those will last.

Sunday we enjoyed a Mennonite buffet brunch, never before have I been so overwhelmed by pie. I kept ogling them, but Adeel was kind enough to remind me about my bikini mantra. If I want to look fabulous for Greece this summer, I’ll have to avoid the pie (but not the Godiva chocolates on my kitchen table, that would be wrong). Afterward I may have contracted a new guilty pleasure, Extreme Couponing and My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding. Wow, TLC really knows how to keep me occupied. Somehow they managed to make couponing seem like a fantastic hobby, sadly I don’t see how stockpiling 62 bottles of mustard is beneficial for my small household. We also watched the first two movies in the Millennium series (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and The Girl who Played with Fire). Intense. I was eager to see them since I recently finished the trilogy, I’m afraid it was a bit shocking for Adeel as he didn’t know what to expect. I definitely suggest reading the books, the movies don’t do it justice.

The weekend was truly too short. I had a great time up north and now I’m dreading returning to work this week. I’ll be conducting another week of usability tests, oh joy… Fortunately tomorrow night is wide open, this can only mean one thing, super-hard-workout! I seriously need it after another few days of indulging.

And how was yours? How did you spend your long weekend? Who managed to get a tan?

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on May 30, 2011, in Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. LOL!! I’ve watched a few episodes of Extreme Couponing…I feel you on the stockpile versus small household. But I, for one, don’t know how a family of 10 could even go through as much stuff as those people buy! It’s crazy!

Leave a Reply

