Mood Modification Necessary

Today started off with a bang, but not necessarily a positive one. As overjoyed as I was to return to Ohio from a wonderful, whirlwind weekend away, I was not ecstatic about the prospect of moderating ten usability tests. My coworker was kind enough to throw me under the bus last week, informing me (in front of a large group) that I would be completing all of the tests myself. Needless to say, I went into work with a negative outlook and a grimace on my face.

I’ve been trying to be more positive about my current situation, understanding that I need to be a model employee before I leave (in 55 days), but some days I just can’t plaster a smile onto this silly mug o’ mine. After eight hours of constant user testing, I was absolutely beat. I came home exhausted and forced myself to complete a P90X workout, I swear it is an instant mood maker. As the sweat fell of my face (and onto my carpet…) I saw my mood lifting into something more positive. Thank goodness.

I attended a lovely, healthy dinner at a friend’s and purchased some gorgeous new earrings (for less than $10, win!). I’m groggy, with a dreadful headache and a few too many bug bites, but I think I’ve come to some realizations. I need to enter each day with a more positive disposition. No, I don’t have to fake it, but I need to stop dreading the simple things and start considering how fantastic it will feel to conquer my fears. Was I so upset that my coworker was forcing me to complete ten tests or was I afraid of how foolish I’d look in front of my observers? Can I really let something as silly as work defeat me when I know that I’ll be moving onto bigger and better things in a few months?

Give me: Your positive self feedback. What you tell yourself when you need a mood makeover. How will you make tomorrow a more glorious day for you, me, and everyone you encounter?

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on May 24, 2011, in The Future and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

