New York, New York

And I’m back from my wonderful, all too short, trip to New York City.  It was absolutely fantastic, but I do believe it is time to get some rest!  I forgot how sociable my bestie Anastasia can be, and how much she enjoys partying until the wee hours of the morning.  After arriving on Friday evening, A shuttled me off to dinner at a fantastic Thai restaurant before heading to the first bar.  Somehow I found myself out at one bar or another until four in the morning.  I honestly haven’t seen four in the morning in ages.

Saturday we spent a more relaxing time walking all over the city.  We had brunch at Anthony Bourdain’s Brasserie Les Halles, they had the most delicious croque madame. Afterward we wandered to the Metropolitan Museum of Art to see the Alexander McQueen exhibit.  If you are in New York, I most certainly suggest going to see the exhibit, it was gorgeous (I’m not a fashionista and I found it fascinating).  I found the most exquisite dress, I’d love a replication if I could find one.

After the museum we crashed a rooftop barbecue at a friend of a friend of a friend’s.  Quite the eclectic group of individuals.  We had a great time people watching and chatting with random party-goers.  There was even a pull up contest, unfortunately I could not compare with any of the other guests. Hopefully I’ll be able to do a pull up or two after I complete this P90X cycle.

And then Sunday was the main event, the real reason why I was in New York. There was a slight hair debacle at the salon, but I think my hair came out beautifully (although not what I had originally requested).  We met with my parents for brunch rushing over to the park for photos.  My cousin, my petite, gorgeous cousin was the most beautiful bride. Rather than wear a typical gown, she opted for a knee length lace dress.  It was stunning on her.  She complemented the dress with a pair of black Louboutin pumps.  I tried to explain the shoes to my father and brother, but they didn’t see the appeal (or why someone would pay $600 for a pair).

The wedding was a small affair, twenty guests were in attendance.  It was a short and sweet outdoor ceremony, thank goodness it didn’t rain.  There may have been tears on my part, it seems I’m a tad weepy…  For the reception we were herded into my uncle’s gorgeous condo.  Fantastic food with delicious cakes from Magnolia’s (the famous cupcake bakery). I’ll be working off that chocolate for the next few weeks.

A quick brunch with my college friend Emily and then I was off to the airport this morning.  Of course the flight was not on time, I have a history with the airlines and they refuse to work properly for me. But here I am, back in Columbus and the weather has taken a turn for the worse. I forced a P90X workout in, I need to start working off all of the brunch and chocolate I consumed this weekend. Specially since I’ll be having another food laden weekend in Toronto this weekend, oy vey…

How about you: How did you indulge this weekend?  And what is the most beautiful wedding you’ve ever attended?

This was the third wedding I’ve been to in my life, but by far the most wonderful. I can’t wait until my friends start getting married so I have more excuses to doll myself up! More photos to follow, I’m sure.

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on May 23, 2011, in Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

