Lazy Doesn’t Seem Like the Right Word

There are days when I turn down a lovely offer to socialize with my friends for the most random and useless of reasons. Tonight was no exception. My way of justifying it? I’m just darn lazy. Rather than indulge in sushi, I chose to return home, vacuum (hell is freezing over), complete a P90X workout (and Ab Ripper X which is a serious b*tch, but fantastic workout), and consume leftover curry.

Now here is the kicker, I love to exercise and participate in group activities. But when it comes to after work festivities, I have recently had a tendency to decline offers and select my uncomfortable couch instead. Yes, I was able to accomplish a good bit before 8pm, yet I feel awfully lazy about the state of affairs.  I know I’ll be out and about all weekend, but nights like this make me feel so indolent. Am I becoming a lazy bum?

In other news, my food chose to age gracefully overnight. It actually tasted great tonight. I’m wondering how wonderful the last serving will be tomorrow! Someday I’ll learn how to portion recipes properly for my single person household.

Now off to pack for my glamorous trip to New York City. I’m off to attend my cousin’s wedding and spend an outrageous weekend with one of my favorite people in the world. BeerLympics anyone? I’ll have to put P90X aside for another weekend, but I’m bringing my running shoes and hoping to get a short jaunt in.

Do tell: How do you fight the battle against laziness? And how are you going to spend this (hopefully) beautiful weekend?

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on May 19, 2011, in Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Even though I consider myself extroverted, I do often need some time to not be around other people. Or even just to maybe be around friends in a low-key setting, like just watching a movie at someone’s apartment, no big organizing necessary. I’ve been going out a lot recently, and so I’m so emotionally exhausted after each weekend that I’m wiped during the week. So I need to take a step back and maybe take a weekend off, where I don’t go out.

    So yeah, I definitely just like to crawl into bed after work most of the time … zzzzzz.

  2. I wish I could say that I had good advice to help with laziness that keeps you home but I am the worst with it! I tend to stay home and work in the evenings. Going out for drinks no longer appeals. Dinner party with friends though – yes please!

    Have a wonderful weekend! :)

  3. I feel that way everyday after work. I just want to collapse! If you worked out/cleaned etc. until 8 I do not think you’re lazy at all! It’s good to rest up. I’m going home and catching up on about 4 loads of laundry and catching up on my DVR! Have a great weekend!

  4. It’s not just you…I’m lazy after work too. Sometimes after a long day in the office you just need a little downtime.

    Have a fun weekend in NYC!!

Leave a Reply

