Cat’s out of the bag

I can’t begin to explain how good it feels to have finally informed my boss that I will be leaving this summer.  I had been putting it off for a few weeks, hoping I could hold out until June when we have the big, daunting discussion of where my future lies with the company .  But no, he had to schedule my yearly review for this week; more than ten weeks from my departure date!

My father, illegitimate mother, girl friends, and coworker have been counseling me; trying to prepare me for the “big day”.  My father’s advice, “If he doesn’t ask you about your future, don’t tell him!  Just try not to lie…”  Of course my coworker saw it differently and reminded me of all the work that would be piled on if I didn’t give my boss a proper warning.  Sigh, what was a girl to do?

Sitting in the review my boss went over the different aspects of my job and how I performed in the past year.  Everything was positive, as would be expected since I’m awesome my boss adores me.  He mentioned my strengths and where I could improve, then told me his “succession” plan for me.  And then there was the moment where he turned to me, looked me in the eye, asked for my input and how I’d like to advance…  Like a deer in headlights, I stared blankly at him. Clasped my hands.  Took a deep breath.  In one quick statement it was out in the open, “I’m going to be continuing my education in the fall.”  Silence.  I didn’t know what to add and he didn’t know how to respond.  Eventually he began asking the typical questions, “Was it something I said?” and “Is there anything I can do to get you to stay? Please don’t leave me!”  (Okay, he didn’t say that last bit, but he did ask if he could convince me to stay)  And before I knew it, my review was over and everything was hunky dory.

Did I cry?  Nope!  (Win)  Did he get defensive or angry?  Thank goodness no.  He even offered to give me a recommendation if I would ever need it.  I knew there was a reason I got along with this guy (not just because he is a New Yorker and a Jew).

On another note, after hearing my running buddy Mandy constantly talk about the amazing results she is getting from P90X, I decided to jump on the bandwagon.  Yesterday was my first day of the Lean program, and let me tell you, it was a great workout.  Then I managed to roll out of bed this morning to perform the second workout at 5am (exhaustion will set in any minute now).  It was much easier since it was just cardio, but I know it will only get harder from here.  I did take “before” photos, but I won’t be posting those until there is tangible evidence that the plan worked.

So, do tell: What have you gotten of your chest lately?  How did you feel before, during, and after?
And if anyone has ever attempted P90X, is there a way to successfully incorporate running with the program?

About Michelle

I'm an engineer living (and running) in Palo Alto, CA.

Posted on May 4, 2011, in The Future and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

